Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Monday, November 7, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Students honored with nationally competitive Mark of Excellence awards

ATHENS, Ohio (Nov., 7, 2005) -- Ohio University journalism students were the recipients of five Mark of Excellence awards, presented by the Society of Professional Journalists, at a recent Las Vegas convention.

Honored for the second year in a row, Ohio University's chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists was named Chapter of the Year for Region IV. This region encompasses Ohio, Michigan, West Virginia and western Pennsylvania, including Pittsburgh. Four students were honored with national awards: Jaimie Weiss, from Mentor, Ohio, and Lawrence Shields, from Cincinnati, for their TV spot-news coverage for WOUB; Kim Bedford of Alliance, Ohio, and Shields, who received two finalist awards for WOUB, and Anita Martin, from Wadsworth, Ohio, who won first place for her work with Extra Credit Online, a student webzine produced by the Office of Research Communications.

Ohio University was among the top winning schools throughout the nation and the only school in Region IV with students who received national Mark of Excellence awards. The University of Texas-Austin was chosen as the national Chapter of the Year.

The Chapter of the Year award is for the 2004-05 academic year. Last year's officers included President Meredith Heagney, Vice President Jaimie Weiss, Secretary Jenny Miltner, Treasurer Lindsay Grome, and Programming Chair Stefanie Klaus.

SPJ is currently accepting entries for the 2006 awards; any journalism student may enter. Any published work produced for on- and off-campus media from 2005, including pieces done for internships at professional media outlets, is acceptable. Mark of Excellence awards are given in 43 media outlets, including photography, newspapers, magazines, radio, television, and online journalism. Entries are judged on components including creativity, ingenuity and adherence to high journalistic standards.

Regional awards are presented in the spring; regional winners will continue to the national competition and compete for awards in August at the national convention held in Chicago next year. The deadline for entries is Jan. 23, 2006. More information, the required application, and details about last year's awards are available at www.spj.org/awards_moe.asp.

Students interested in Mark of Excellence awards are encouraged to contact Bill Reader, assistant professor of journalism, at (740) 597-1294 or reader@ohio.edu.  

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Media Specialist George Mauzy, (740) 597-1794

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved