Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Tuesday, November 1, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Forensics Team takes first place at Ball State

ATHENS, Ohio (Nov. 1, 2005) -- Ohio University's Forensics Team battled this weekend at the Ball State University Speech and Debate Tournament, and won first place in Overall Team Sweepstakes and the Individual Events Sweepstakes. The team also took home the Benson-Hedges Traveling Trophy.

The tournament was the fifth of the season, and had its highest attendance among members from the team, 12 of 17.

"This is my first year as the Cassese Director of Forensics and I am impressed with how well the team is doing. I only have three students returning from last year's team, so that means 14 of our students are new to forensics at Ohio University," says Dan West, John A Cassese Director of Forensics.

Other achievements in the tournament included: third place in Dramatic Duo Interpretation (Daniel DiLorento and Alison Schmidt); third place in Extemporaneous Speaking (Chris Glaser); fifth place in Novice Impromptu Speaking (Beverly Patusky); semifinals in the Lincoln-Douglas Debate (Chris Glaser); third place in Persuasive Speaking (Daniel DiLorento); first (Joyelle Freeman) and third place (Tymon Wallace) in Novice Poetry Interpretation; and third (Liz Nalepa), fifth (Liz Delon) and sixth place (Sarah Hoppes) in Novice Prose Interpretation.

Twelve students have qualified in 16 events for the National Forensics Association National Tournament that will be held at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire in April 2006.

Competing at the tournament were Miami University, University of Indianapolis, Western Kentucky (ranked third last year), Wheaton College, Marshall University, Northwestern, Eastern Michigan University (ranked fifth last year), Wabash College, Kent State (ranked 15th last year), Central Michigan University, Wayne State, Hillsdale College, University of St. Francis, Butler University, Indiana University at Kokomo, Berry College, Indiana University, Pursue University?Indiana, Otterbein College, and Ball State.

The team will compete next at Bloomsburg University on Nov. 3.

Media Contact: Media Specialist George Mauzy, (740) 597-1794 or mauzy@ohio.edu  

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved