Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Wednesday, May 31, 2006
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Scripps College honors outstanding staff

ATHENS, Ohio (May 31, 2006) -- Steve Orth, Kimberly Ellison and Chuck Scott were among the award winners honored May 21, at the 2006 Scripps College of Communication Recognition and Awards Celebration in Walter Hall on the Ohio University campus.

The employee recognition program was established in 2003 to honor outstanding employees who set standards for excellence and innovation. These employees contribute to the College by promoting unity, community, continuity and visibility through outstanding individual achievement, contribution, innovation and job performance.

The 2006 Employee of the Year certificate and $1,000 was awarded to Student Services Specialist Steve Orth, who has worked with the university for over 30 years, 20 of which have been in the College Dean's Office.

"I'll be retiring at the end of next month," he said. "I started out here as a janitor 30 years ago. When I got this job, I discovered there was no other job like it. I've worked with the greatest staff, greatest faculty and the greatest students. I can't thank you all enough," he concluded and then received a hug from both Provost Krendl, with whom he worked for many years and the current Dean.

Past winners of the Employee of the Year award include Telecommunications Director of Development and Communications Doug Partusch and E.W. Scripps School of Journalism Administrative Associate Debbie Depeel (2005), School of Visual Communication Assistant to the Director Judy Reed (2004), and School of Communication Studies Administrative Coordinator Wanda Sheridan (2003).

The 2006 Student Employee of the Year certificate and $500 went to Kimberly Ellison, a student administrative assistant who has served the School of Communication Studies for nearly all of her undergraduate career. Near tears, she accepted the award to a standing ovation.

"This job has made my experience here wonderful," Ellison said. "I'm so flustered."

Counseling education student and Dean's Office Assistant Amy Danzo won the first Student Employee of the Year Award in 2005.

In addition to recognizing employees, the Scripps College also honors a superior faculty member who demonstrates exemplary mentoring of students both in and outside the classroom during and after the college years.

Created and supported by Tom Kuby, a 1955 graduate, the L.J. Hortin Faculty Mentor Award was established in 2000 to honor Kuby's mentor, Loren Joseph Hortin, Ohio University professor of journalism from 1947 to 1967.

The award is presented to a current or former faculty member who exhibits a commitment to the professional and personal growth of students. The selection process is based on faculty members' continual efforts to go beyond the normal mentoring role, their ongoing relationship with the nominator and their impact on his or her career.

This year's award was presented to Visual Communication Professor and co-founder of the School of Telecommunication, Charles Scott.

"When I started out in this business in 1940, I earned $2.50 for each photo published, and that was with one of the best papers in the world at that time," he reminisced. "But, I later left my salary in Chicago to come to this joint," he said, as the crowd chuckled. "Ohio University has done a lot for me. They allowed me to teach the importance of photos to word people. Here, they let me do my own thing. I had the honor of working under some courageous deans. They made it possible for me and Terry [Eiler] to start the School of Visual Communication. I am proud to be a part of this university."

Past recipients of the award include Honors Tutorial College Dean Emeritus Joseph Berman (2005), Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Journalism and Director of the Scripps Survey Research Center Guido H. Stempel III (2004), Professor of Journalism Dru Riley Evarts (2003), Assistant Professor of Telecommunications Joe Richie (2002) and current Dean of University College and Associate Provost for Undergraduate Studies David Descutner (2001). Each received a plaque and $1500 for professional development.

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Media Specialist George Mauzy, (740) 597-1794 or mauzy@ohio.edu

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved