Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Tuesday, November 22, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all Features
Office of Nationally Competitive Awards celebrates students and faculty

June 1, 2006
By Mary Alice Casey

For a 5- by 8-inch booklet, the program for the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards' (ONCA) annual celebration luncheon has considerable heft - and with good reason: It singles out 88 students who have sought top national recognition this year and the many faculty who mentor them.

Since the office was formed, in fact, the number of students applying for prestigious national awards has grown almost fivefold. Just 18 Ohio University students applied for top national recognition in 1999-2000, and five students earned it. By 2005-06, the number of applicants had soared to 88 and the number of winners to 37 so far. 

In sharing those figures with the more than 200 people attending the May 25 celebration, Provost Kathy Krendl said ONCA offers a perfect case study in what can be accomplished when the university brings focus and resources to worthwhile goals.

"The success of ONCA speaks to the success of this institution and to its potential," Krendl said. As the university strives for greater national recognition, the office's work in guiding students and enlisting the support of faculty and staff is invaluable.

Ann Brown, who has headed the office since its inception, points to the courage of students and the caring mentorship of faculty for the impressive gains.

"This is a community of people who are working together toward a common goal," Brown said. "Beyond the winning ? is the fact that 88 students believed in themselves enough to compete for these awards.

"The faculty are the heart and soul of this university," she added. "They've ensured that each of these students has had a very rewarding and fulfilling experience."

Three faculty members were singled out for ONCA Distinguished Service Awards: Harvey Ballard of the Department of Environmental and Plant Biology, Elizabeth Collins of the Department of Classics and World Religions and Lois Vines of the Department of Modern Languages. In addition, the Department of Geography was recognized with the Outstanding Department Award.

Following is a list of this year's award recipients:

  • Edeard Achaab -- NSBE Board of Corporate Affiliates (BAC) Award
  • Kathryne Adair -- French Government Teaching Assistantship
  • Phillip Allman -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Ghanna)
  • Blake Andrews -- ASCE Tuttle Memorial Scholarship, Tau Beta Pi Graduate Fellowship, Dwight D. Eisenhower Transportation Graduate Fellowship
  • Rachel Cook -- Morris K. Udall Scholarship
  • Michael Cunnington -- David L. Boren (NSEP) Undergraduate Scholarship (Oman)
  • Julie DePaulo -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Japan)
  • Cara DiBlasi -- French Government Teaching Assistantship
  • Nicholas Engerer -- NOAA Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Kim Fell -- French Government Teaching Assistantship
  • Melissa Freeman -- Association for Institutional Research Dissertation Fellowship
  • Rachel Friedson -- Mandel FEREP Scholarship
  • Brian Gallagher -- DAAD RISE Fellowship
  • Andrew Goodhart -- David L. Boren (NSEP) Undergraduate Scholarship (Jordan)
  • Layne Hanson -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Indonesia)
  • Adam Hart -- French Government Teaching Assistantship
  • Jonathan Harvey -- Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, NOAA Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Tod Imperato -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Chile)
  • Troy Johnson -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Indonesia)
  • Eileen Kelbach -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Germany)
  • Clarissa Kornell -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Indonesia)
  • Eileen Kelbach -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Germany)
  • Clarissa Kornell -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Indonesia)
  • McKenzie Koss -- Barry M. Goldwater (2005-2007)
  • Alyssa Malchi -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Korea)
  • Kara Mealer -- David L. Boren (NSEP) Undergraduate Scholarship (Vietnam)
  • Laura Powell -- French Government Teaching Assistantship
  • Laura Rossi -- Golden Key Literary Achievement of Poetry Scholarship
  • Robert Russell -- JASSO Scholarship
  • Melanie Schori -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Phillipines)
  • Megan Schuck -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Germany)
  • Charles Schwartz -- French Government Teaching Assistantship
  • Sarah Sexton -- George J. Mitchell Scholarship (Ireland)
  • Alexis Taylor -- French Government Teaching Assistantship
  • Jennifer Ulicky -- French Government Teaching Assistantship
  • Genevieve Waller -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Germany
  • Jess Wilhelm -- Barry M. Goldwater (2005-2007)
  • Carly Witmer -- Fulbright U.S. Student Program (Ecuador)
Mary Alice Casey is the editor of Ohio Today, Ohio University's alumni magazine.


Related Links:

Published: Jul 20, 2006 3:50:00 PM
Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved