Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Wednesday, August 23, 2006
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Ohio University Academic Honesty and Plagiarism Hearing committee members

ATHENS, Ohio (Aug. 23, 2006) -- Ohio University officials today announced a comprehensive set of strategies for addressing academic honesty. The strategies have been developed in the wake of alleged cases of plagiarism involving current and former graduate students in the university's Russ College of Engineering and Technology. 

A key component of the strategies is the formation of two committees. The 10-member Academic Honesty Committee is charged with reviewing the university's policies, procedures and processes related to academic honesty and making recommendations to strengthen them if necessary.

Academic Honesty Committee members

  • Co-Chair, Scott Titsworth, Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
  • Co-Chair, Susan Sarnoff, Associate Professor of Social Work
  • David Descutner, University College Dean and Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education
  • Michael Mumper, Associate Provost for Graduate Studies
  • Jayme Feldman, Undergraduate Student in Honors Tutorial College and Student Senate Representative
  • Melissa Broeckelman, Graduate Student in Communication Studies
  • Dee Dee Riffe, Assistant Dean in the Scripps College of Communication
  • Judith Millesen, Assistant Professor of Political Science
  • Patti McSteen, Associate Dean of Student Affairs
  • Dean Bruckner, Graduate Student in the Russ College of Engineering and Technology

The Plagiarism Hearing Committee will decide the cases of students who have been accused of plagiarism and assign appropriate penalties.

Plagiarism Hearing Committee members

  • Chair, David Ingram, Professor of Physics and Astronomy and Chair of Faculty Senate Educational Policy and Student Affairs Committee
  • William Condee, Director of the School of Interdisciplinary Arts
  • Butch Hill, Co-Director of the Cutler Scholar Program and former University Ombudsman and former Faculty Senate Chair
  • Melissa Broeckelman, Graduate Student in Communication Studies
  • Jesse Megenhardt, Undergraduate Student in the Russ College of Engineering and Technology

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Media Specialist Jack Jeffery, (740) 597-1793 or jefferyj@ohio.edu

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved