Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Tuesday, April 4, 2006
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
American Association of University Women held special meeting at Ohio University Eastern campus

ATHENS, Ohio (April 4, 2006) -- The Wheeling Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) celebrated its 75th Anniversary with a special "Tea Party Meeting" held at the Ohio University Eastern Campus on February 25.

This meeting allowed AAUW members to meet and become acquainted with recipients of this year's Beulah Boyd Scholarship Award. Scholarship recipients and AAUW members were treated to a lunch and a presentation about the significant history of the AAUW and the Beulah Boyd Scholarship.

Through the Beulah Boyd Scholarship, the AAUW reaches out to and assists local college students who carry a high grade point average, demonstrate good moral character, and strive to make positive contributions to our local community.

The Wheeling Branch of the AAUW was founded in 1931. Miss Boyd was a life-long member of the organization and served as the second president of the Wheeling Branch of the AAUW. As an educator at the former Wheeling High School, she realized the value of a college education. A true visionary, Miss Boyd made a significant gift to the AAUW, and expressed her wish to have scholarship awards given to deserving college students. The Beulah Boyd Scholarship has been awarded since 1979 and has enhanced the lives of hundreds of students.

The Wheeling Branch of the AAUW currently has 23 members. The AAUW meets regularly to discuss issues that affect the local community as well as the entire country. The goal of this organization is to promote the rights and equality for all and to ensure that both male and female students are given the opportunity to pursue a college education. All members donate much of their time to ensure the success of the organization's mission.

In recognition of its significant efforts to promote education in the local area, the Wheeling Branch of the AAUW was the only West Virginia branch to be named an AAUW 2003-2004 Bronze Winner. For membership information, call Patricia Murphy, president, (740) 699-2490.

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Assistant Dean for Development Jan Chambers, (740) 699-2334 or chamberj@ohio.edu

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved