Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Wednesday, June 8, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Ohio University Bicentennial
Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Students earn EMMI awards from Ohio University-Zanesville

ZANESVILLE, Ohio (June 8, 2005) -- The Electronic Media Department at Ohio University-Zanesville recently presented ten Electronic Media Moving Image (EMMI) awards to area high school students for their creativity and talent in computer animation, audio recording, multimedia, video recording and Web site design. There were 55 entries in 10 categories in this year's competition, up from last year's competition by about 30 entries.

Seventy-six students from nine high schools including John Glenn, Maysville, Mid-East Career Center, Morgan, Newark and Zanesville shared their talent in long-form dramatic video; long and short form non-fiction video; music video; multimedia or Web site to inform or instruct, to entertain and to persuade or sell; computer animation; musical audio recording; and long-form non-musical audio recording.

Nathan Johnson, Bryan Handshy and Anthony Nutter from Maysville High School were recognized for their long-form dramatic video entitled "The Watch." In the short form non-fiction video category, Samantha Smallwood & Hilary Post, from Morgan High School received an award for "Love One Another." Newark High School students, Erika McCollough & Tommy Baird were recognized for their long-form non-fiction video "Fiddler on the Roof" new package.

The music video entitled "Obsession" by Brandon Ransbottom of Maysville High School received an award. The award for multimedia or website to inform or instruct went to Lydia Hale of Zanesville High School for "High School Jeopardy." Multimedia or Web site to entertain and in the persuade or sell categories winners were Corey Mahun and Josh Boles from Maysville High School for their works entitled Silver Domino and EXTRACE Designs.

Matt Abele of John Glenn High School captured the award for computer animation for his work entitled "Alpha Soliers: Part II." In the musical audio recording category, Nick Johnson from Mid-east Career and Technology Center, received an award for his work entitled "Techno Beat." Landon Duhamel & Josh Joseph of Mid-east Career and Technology Center received an award for their long-form non-musical audio recording entitled "Tribe Talk."

For information about the EMMI Awards at Ohio University-Zanesville or about the Electronic Media associate degree program, contact Rick Shriver at (740) 588-1455 or via e-mail at shriver@ohio.edu.

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Christine Shaw, (740) 588-1509 or ouzpr@ohio.edu  

Related Links:  

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved