Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Monday, June 13, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Ohio University Bicentennial
Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Engineering students receive prestigious scholarships

ATHENS, Ohio (June 13, 2005) -- Two students in the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ College of Engineering and Technology at Ohio University were among the 69 students across the nation selected to receive a nationally competitive scholarship from Tau Beta Pi engineering honor society.

Tom Moehring, a senior mechanical engineering major, and Blake Andrews, a senior civil engineering major, each will apply their $2,000 scholarships towards their fifth years of undergraduate work at the Russ College, planning to graduate in June 2006. Both chose to delay graduation by one year in order to take cooperative education positions at Swagelok in Solon, Ohio, and Hoppes Engineering and Surveying Company in Springfield, Ohio, respectively.

Founded in 1885, Tau Beta Pi is the nation's second-oldest honor society. It is the only engineering honor society that represents the entire engineering profession. The scholarships were awarded based on academic achievement, campus leadership and service, and promise of future contributions to the engineering professions.

Both students have invested considerable amounts of time giving back to the university. Moehring, in addition to his academic efforts, is also a member of the Engineering Ambassadors, University Tour Guides, Mechanical Engineering Student Advisory Board and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Andrews is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Civil Engineering Honor Society and the Engineering Ambassadors.

"I competed against 180 applicants for the Tau Beta Pi scholarship from a nationwide honor society and was one of just eight mechanical engineering students to receive the award," Moehring said. "I am very proud of that."

Moehring will be attending Ohio University next year tuition-free thanks to two other scholarships he received. The American Society for Mechanical Engineers awarded him the John & Elsa Gracik Scholarship. Jay Gunasekera, chair of the Russ College's Department of Mechanical Engineering, awarded him an Ohio University Distinguished Professor scholarship.

Andrews also received the American Society of Civil Engineers Samuel Fletcher Tapman Scholarship for 2005. Associate Professor of Civil Engineering Ben J. Stuart, who recommended him to the society, said both students' awards are testimony to the caliber of the Russ College

"Their accomplishments, specifically the receipt of this award, place the Russ College of Engineering and Technology at Ohio University in a place of high visibility and honor among engineering colleges in the U.S."

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Russ College Director of External Relations Colleen Girton, (740) 593-1488 or girtonc@ohio.edu, or Media Specialist Jack Jeffery, (740) 597-1793

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved