Ohio University

Manually Add Users in Blackboard: Instructors

Manually Add Users

Instructors of Record are automatically loaded to Blackboard eight (8) weeks before the course start date and registered students are loaded two (2) weeks prior, but other types of users, such as TAs and facilitators, must be manually added to a course by the instructor.  Adding a user to a Bb course with the roster manager tool allows you to choose, and subsequently change, the user's course role as well as remove the user from the course.  For more information on course roles and the associated levels of access to the content and tools within a course, please see the Course Roles Blackboard Help page.

The instructions below go along with this quick video: Manually Add Users - Ohio University (video hosted on Panopto)

Adding users to a Blackboard course

  1. Click to expand the Course Tools option in the Control Panel.
  2. Select the Add/Modify Enrollments tool.
  3. Choose the Enroll Users option.
  4. Enter the OHIO ID of each user to be added and click the Search button. (You may enter up to 25 OHIO IDs, separated by commas.)
  5. When the search results are returned, enable the checkbox to the left of each user's name and click Submit.
  6. Choose the desired role for the user(s) and click the Submit button.
  7. The next page should display confirmation of the change in enrollment status.

Modifying the course role of a manually added user

  1. Click to expand the Course Tools option in the Control Panel.
  2. Select the Add/Modify Enrollments tool.
  3. Choose the Manage Enrollments option.
  4. Click the Change Role button to the right of the user whose role is to be changed.
  5. Select the desired course role.
  6. Click Submit.

Removing a user from a course

  1. Click to expand the Course Tools option in the Control Panel.
  2. Select the Add/Modify Enrollments tool.
  3. Choose the Manage Enrollments option.
  4. Click the Unenroll button to the right of the user to be removed.
  5. The "Course List" field displays all of your courses in which the user is enrolled.  Select one or more courses from which this user will be removed.
  6. Click Submit.
  7. The next page should display confirmation of the change in enrollment status.