Ohio Today: For Alumni and Friends of Ohio University
From the Winter Issue
Online Exclusives
From the Alumni Assoc.
Celebrating the Bicentennial


Meet the bicentennial honorees


The Founders Citation is the highest honor presented by the Ohio University Board of Trustees. The first citation was given in 1961 to President Emeritus John Baker; only five other citations have been awarded and none has been presented since 1977.


The trustees decided that as part of the University's 200th birthday celebration, it would be appropriate to revive this prestigious honor. Thirteen citations will be awarded during the bicentennial year.


Founders Citation recipients have distinguished themselves through exemplary service to Ohio University as members of the faculty or administration, loyal alumni, devoted volunteers or generous philanthropists. Honored with the citation in the past were, in addition to Baker, President Emeritus Vernon Alden; Robert Morton, distinguished professor emeritus of education; and former Ohio University Board of Trustees members John Galbreath, Edwin Kennedy and Fred Johnson.


The bicentennial Founders Citation honorees are philanthropists and volunteers who have made significant career accomplishments and have served the University and their communities. Click on their names to read more about them:


·        Jeanette Grasselli Brown, a scientist and former chair of the Ohio Board of Regents and the Ohio University Board of Trustees

·        G. Kenner Bush, former publisher of The Athens Messenger and a member of the advisory board to the Voinovich Center for Leadership and Public Affairs

·        Charles "Chuck" Emrick Jr., an attorney, senior vice president and managing director of TransAction Group in Cleveland and co-chair of the University's Bicentennial Campaign

·        Leona (Hughes) Hughes, longtime Ohio University Alumni Association and Foundation board member

·        Wilfred "Will" Konneker, a pioneer in the nuclear medicine field who is president and CEO of Konneker Development Corp. and former chair of The Ohio University Foundation Board of Trustees

·        Robert E. Mahn, a retired 51-year employee of Ohio University who held positions including registrar, archivist and assistant to presidents Claude Sowle, Harry Crewson and Charles Ping

·        Joan "Jody" Galbreath Phillips, the first woman to chair the University's board of trustees

·        Charles J. Ping, the 18th president of the University

·        Fritz and Dolores Russ, supporters of the Russ College of Engineering and Technology who head Russ Venture Group Inc., an engineering consulting firm they founded after selling Systems Research Laboratories Inc.

·        Daniel Kung-Chuen Shao, executive director of Van Yu Trading Co. Ltd. in Hong Kong and a Foundation board trustee

·        Donald Spencer, the first African-American to chair the University's board of trustees and former owner of Donald A. Spencer and Associates real estate firm

·        Beth Kilpatrick Stocker, supporter of the RussCollege and board president emeritus of the Stocker Foundation

·        Eric Wagner, a 25-year faculty member and retired chair of the University's Department of Sociology and Anthropology



Ohio University
Athens, Ohio 45701
(740) 593-1000
All Rights Reserved