[1940][1950][1960] [1970][1980][1990]


Adeniyi A. Adegbusi, MSHEC '81, has received the Cadbury Nigeria Award for Excellence.

Hank Waters, BSCHE '83, was named director of sales for Ashland Chemical's Fine Ingredients Division in Dublin. He joined the company in 1991.

Mahadzir bin Datuk Lokman, BBA '84, is the managing director of Dale Lokman Communications, a public relations, events management and TV productions consultancy in Kuala Lu mpur, Malaysia. From 1984 to 1994, Lokman was a bilingual TV news anchor with Malaysia's first private television station.

Kerry L. Robinson, AB '84, is the Title III attorney for Southeastern Ohio Legal Services in Marietta. He handles legal matters on behalf of senior citizens in a 10-county area.

Darwin L. Conwell, BS '85, of the Cleveland Clinic's Center for Endoscopy and Pancreatic-Biliary Diseases, is a recipient of a $75,000 grant from Solvay Pharmaceuticals to support his research of inflammatory bowel diseases and chronic pancreatitis.

Amy E. Farrell, AB '85, has been awarded tenure at Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pa., as associate professor of American studies. She joined the Dickinson faculty in 1991 and won a $20,000 Aspen Institute Research Grant in 1995.

Richard A. Gershon, PHD '86, received the National Cable Television Center and Museum's 1998 Cable Book Award. He received the award for his book The Transnational Media Corpora tion: Global Messages and Free Market Competition, published by Lawrence Erlbaum Associates in 1997. Gershon is an associate professor of communication at Western Michigan University.

Jay E. Johnson, BS '86, reported for duty at the 8th Marine Corps District in New Orleans. He joined the Marine Corps in 1986.

Scott E. Swan, BSED '86, is dean of students at Greensboro College in North Carolina, where he has worked since 1991. He received the New Professional Award from Kent State University's higher education and student personnel program at the annual American College Personnel Association conference in 1997.

Wayne J. Breaux, MBA '87, is vice president of LaRoche Industries Nitrogen Business Unit. LaRoche Industries is a worldwide producer and distributor of nitrogen-based chemical products.

Mei-Chun Liu, MA '87, received her doctorate in linguistics from the University of Colorado and is an associate professor at National Chiao-Tung Universi ty in Taiwan.

Alma Mock Yen, MA '87, has been listed in the 1998 edition of Who's Who in the World. She is the honorary consultant in media to the vice chancellor of the University of the West Indies, Jamaica. She is well-known in Jamaica for her work in the fields of education, arts and culture.

Richard L. Averitte Jr., BGS '88, earned a doctor of medicine degree from the Medical College of Ohio in Toledo. He is doing his preliminary residency training in internal medi cine at Summa Health Care Systems in Akron before training in dermatology at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland.

Regina Randall Peal, BSHEC '88, MHSA '90, PHD '98, is a counselor at Columbus State Community College and recently received her doctorate in educational administration. She is the immediate past president of the OU Black Alumni Columbus Chapter.

Erin Sullivan, AB '88, is a state representative for Ohios 18th District and was elected to a new term in Novemb er. She is a former director of communications for Cleveland City Council and an organizer for the Ohio Public Interest Research Group and Ohio Citizen Action.

Erik Gould, MFA '89, has joined the Rhode Island School of Design Museum of Art. He is responsible for photographing and documenting the museums collection, special exhibitions and new acquisitions.

R. James Rollins, BBA '89, has joined Meaden and Moore, a regional accounting and business consulting firm, as a senior ma nager with the Assurance Services Group in the Wooster office.

Ohio University Today Fall/Winter 1998Ohio University Front DoorOhio University Today Front Doo