The fire swayed and dodged the men.
When they smacked at the fire, it jumped.

Michael Chitwood, "The Elements Will Have Their Way" from Issue 8

Current    |      NOR Online    |      Archives    |      Subscribe     |      Submit     |      Contests     |      NOR Audio     |      Donations     |     About



Current Issue
Past Issues
NOR Audio


Note: The deadline has passed for the Spring, 2019 Contest, but check our website for updates about future contests.

2019 New Ohio Review Contest


Fiction: Claire Vaye Watkins

Nonfiction: Kiese Laymon

Poetry: Tyehimba Jess

Entry Fee: $20 (with a one-year subscription included)

Prizes:  $1,000 prize in each genre

Deadline:  April 15, 2019



Entrants may submit up to six single-spaced pages of poetry or 20 double-spaced pages of prose. If you are submitting through our online system, we prefer Microsoft Word documents (.doc or .docx). Contest entries are judged blind, so please include your name in your cover letter only. No names should appear on contest manuscripts. Past contest winners may not enter again. Electronic submissions may be submitted via:

If subscribers wish to mail to our contest, submissions must be postmarked by April 15th and should be sent to:

New Ohio Review
English Dept.
45 University Terrace
201 Ellis Hall
Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701

All contest submissions will be considered for regular publication.

2018 New Ohio Review Contest Winners

Fiction Prize, selected by Mary Gaitskill

“Return,” by Analia Villagra

Nonfiction Prize, selected by Roxane Gay

“Who's Loving You,” by Kelsey Ronan

Poetry Prize, selected by Kevin Prufer

“My Babysitter Karen B Who Was Sent to Willard Asylum,” by Jessica Cuello