Ohio University

Tickets for March 20 OHIO Women's Achievement Dinner on sale now

Tickets for March 20 OHIO Women's Achievement Dinner on sale now
Published: March 8, 2019 Author: George E. Mauzy Jr.

Ohio University will shine a spotlight on its own outstanding women during the third annual Women’s Achievement Dinner, 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, March 20, in the Baker University Center Ballroom.

The dinner is an opportunity for members of the OHIO community to highlight the successes of women in a variety of roles. It also lifts up those who are doing work in areas that may go unrecognized as "women's work" or more feminized labor.

Individual tickets cost $25. Sponsorships can be purchased for $250 and includes two tickets to the dinner. All ticket proceeds will benefit OHIO’s Survivor Advocacy Program.

Eleven awards will be presented during the fundraiser. The 2019 award winners include:

Outstanding Female Mentor: Includes mentoring that occurs in a structured or an official capacity.

  • Jenny Chabot, PhD, CCLS, Associate Professor, Child and Family Studies/Child Life
  • Christine A. Gidycz, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology

Caregiver Award: Recognizes women who have the primary care-giving role for children or elders.

  • Megan Borer, Master Teacher, Ohio University Child Development Center
  • Kristin "KC" Waltz, MSW, LISW, Advocate, Survivor Advocacy Program

Social Justice in the Classroom: Given to a female educator who is dedicated to broadening students' knowledge on issues of diversity.

  • Pamela A. Kaylor, Ph.D., Associate Lecturer
  • Lisa A. Wallace, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Communication Studies

Social Justice in the Workplace: Given to a female who is dedicated to broadening employee AND/OR colleagues knowledge on issues of diversity outside of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion.

  • Dianne L. Bouvier, PhD, Associate Director for University Accessibility
  • Danielle E. Schabel MSN, RN, Lecturer of Nursing

Lasting Action Award: Intended for women who have taken sustainable action to improve the quality of life for women at Ohio University.

  • Jennifer Autumn Bennett, Director, WellWorks
  • Patricia McSteen, PhD, Associate Dean of Students and Director, Margaret Boyd Scholars Program

Making a Second Home Award: Intended for women who have filled familial roles on campus and have helped students adjust to college life.

  • Andrea Brunson, MA, Assistant Director, Student Affairs, Heritage College Dublin
  • Char Kopchick, Assistant Dean of Students For Campus Involvement

Above and Beyond Award: Intended for women employed by Ohio University who have gone above and beyond their job descriptions.

  • Sarah Diamond Burroway, M.S., Director of External Relations, Communications and Workforce Success
  • Debra McAdoo, Administrative Associate, Dance

Breaking Barriers Award: Intended for women with demonstrated success who are working in male-dominated fields.

  • Clare Ankawi, M.Ed, Learning Technologies Analyst, in the Office of Information and Learning Technologies at Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Claudia González Vallejo, PhD, MIA, Professor of Psychology

Outstanding Community Service Award: Intended for women who are engaged with Athens community.

  • Faith Beale Knutsen; Director, Social Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Voinovich School of Leadership & Public Affairs
  • Ana L. Rosado Feger, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Management Systems, College of Business

Hidden Gem Award: Intended for those in positions that may not get all of the glamour, but who have contributed to Ohio University so that their department, division, etc., would not function without them.

  • Ji-Yeung Jang, Ph.D., Director, Office of Global Affairs
  • Brenda Sinclair, BBA, Ohio University, Administrative Specialist, Russ College of Engineering & Technology

Outstanding Alumnae: First-year award recognizes graduates who have made significant contributions to any of the following: their field of work, their family, current students at Ohio University, and/or the advancement of women.

  • Constance P. Lawson-Davis, BSED '67, Member, OAA Board of Directors
  • René M. Paulson, Ph.D., President, Elite Research, LLC and Executive Director, Texas Woman's University's Center for Research Design and Analysis


“In the past we only recognized faculty and staff, so we are excited to add an award for alumnae as well,” said Dr. M. Geneva Murray, director of the OHIO Women’s Center. “We are also excited to move into the Baker Ballroom this year after selling out the Walter Hall Rotunda the past two years. Now we can accommodate more people who are invested in recognizing and honoring women’s achievements.”

The Women’s Achievement Dinner is sponsored by the OHIO Women’s Center, Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority Inc., and Rho Lambda, the National Sorority Leadership Recognition Society.

For more information or to purchase tickets, contact the Women’s Center at 740-593-9625 or womenscenter@ohio.edu.