University Community | Research and Impact

Ohio University announces 2023-24 Presidential Research Scholars

Ohio University has named four professors from the fields of Social and Behavioral Sciences and Physical Sciences and Engineering as its 2023-24 Presidential Research Scholars.

This year’s award winners are Elizabeth Beverly, Ryan Fogt, Todd Eisworth and Luke Pittaway.

The Presidential Research Scholars awards program is targeted to faculty members who have garnered national and international prominence in research, scholarship and creative activity and who demonstrate clear promise for continued, significant productivity in their research or creative activity.

Each award recipient receives $6,000 to be used at the scholar’s discretion as an honorarium or to support their research or creative works.

This year, applications were sought for Social and Behavioral Sciences and Physical Sciences and Engineering.

The next round of applications is being solicited in the categories of Life and Biomedical Sciences and Arts and Humanities; nominations should be emailed to by April 18, 2024. The email subject heading should state “Presidential Research Scholar Nomination.”

For nomination and application deadlines and guidelines, visit

The 2023-24 Presidential Research Scholars

Portrait of HCOM's Elizabeth Beverly

Elizabeth Beverly, Ph.D., is a professor of primary care in the Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine and is the co-director of OHIO’s Diabetes Institute.  Beverly is recognized internationally for her creative research, including her research work in diabetes to better understanding the patient perspective.

Ryan Fogt

Ryan Fogt, Ph.D., is a professor of geography-meteorology and is the director of the Scalia Laboratory for Atmospheric Analysis. His research has a very high profile internationally, in particular his work studying the Antarctic climate and its connection to the rest of the global climate system.

Todd Eisworth, Ph.D.

Todd Eisworth, Ph.D., is a professor of mathematics whose research focuses on set theory and set-theoretic topolog. For several decades, he has garnered both national and international recognition for his work focusing on set theory and set-theoretic topology. He is also known as a leading expert on successors of singular cardinals.

Luke Pittaway

Luke Pittaway, Ph.D., is the  O’Bleness Professor of Entrepreneurship, a professor of management systems and associate dean of the College of Business. He is recognized internationally as an expert in business growth, corporate venturing and entrepreneurship.

For more information on the Presidential Research Scholars awards program, please visit this website.

April 5, 2024
Staff reports