University Community

Cybersecurity fellows program and scholarship awardees announced

The central Ohio chapter of the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) recently inducted 10 new chapter members into their inaugural Cybersecurity Fellows program and scholarship. The innovative and experiential pilot program runs through the spring 2024 semester and enables candidates to explore the field of cybersecurity while engaging with industry professionals in the Central Ohio ISACA chapter. 

The 10 Ohio University students will earn an internationally recognized cybersecurity fundamentals certificate through the ISACA credentialing service. Upon completion of the certificate exam, these students will each become an IDACA Cybersecurity Fellow and will be awarded a $500 scholarship. 

The six graduate and four undergraduate students were selected from a competitive field based on their academic accomplishments, a personal essay on cybersecurity career pursuits and their professor’s recommendation. The graduate students are enrolled in the information and telecommunication systems master's program in the J. Warren McClure School of Emerging Communication Technologies. The undergraduate students are majors in the management information systems (MIS) program in the College of Business.

John Roberts, associate professor in the College of Business, served on the ISACA team that helped plan the scholarship program.

“The goal of the program is to connect university students with industry professionals and gain internationally recognized credentials, which ultimately leads to building a more robust cyber workforce in Central Ohio,” Roberts said. 
Program participant Christian Avornu is working as a graduate assistant for the McClure School and has experience in research data science, software engineering and IT technical support.

“I am excited to be selected as a candidate for the ISACA Cybersecurity Fellows program and scholarship and I am genuinely committed to making the most of this program,” Avornu said. “Thanks to Scripps College [of Communication] for introducing me to this incredible opportunity. The support and educational foundation I'm receiving at Scripps College is playing a pivotal role in shaping my academic and professional journey.” 

Adeola Adewa shared the sentiments of fellow participants, saying he is “thrilled” to be a part of the program. 
“This opportunity will serve as a springboard into my cybersecurity career,” Adewa said.

McClure School student Ambimbola Abiodun Ogunjinmi explained the importance of the training and experience the fellows program provides. 

“In a world where the cyberattack train is already in motion, organizations, businesses, institutions and individuals have only one recourse – ensuring that it finds no haven in their domain.” Ogunjinmi called ISACA Central Ohio Chapter “an esteemed organization equipped with the knowledge to fortify against cyber attacks.” 

Further demonstrating how the students are feeling after being accepted into the program, McClure School student Raphael Nyonyoh said, “This is an honor for me to be accepted into this prestigious program, and I look forward to the learning experiences ahead.” 

The McClure School faculty are also excited for the experiences the accepted students will gain. Bruce Tong, senior IT auditor in the University’s Office of Audit, Risk and Compliance and adjunct professor in the McClure School, explained the growing importance of training new experts.

“IT auditing had been a quiet niche, but the profession has become more prominent over the past decade largely as part of world-wide interest in cybersecurity,” Tong said. “As an ISACA member, I'm really excited to see them start this kind of outreach and so very happy for all of those who chose to complete as well as those selected.” 

Chip Linscott, assistant professor and director of the McClure School, said the students’ time at OHIO has prepared them for the work they will do as part of this program.

“The McClure School prides itself on cutting-edge work from both students and faculty,” Linscott said. “These awards are shining examples of such efforts. Congratulations to all involved!”

The full list of students accepted into the program:  

Graduate students, J. Warren McClure School of Emerging Communication Technologies:

  • Adeola Adewa, information and telecommunication systems
  • Christian Avornu, information and telecommunication systems
  • Michael Nkansah, information and telecommunication systems
  • Raphael Nyonyoh, information and telecommunication systems
  • Ambimbola Abiodun Ogunjinmi, information and telecommunication systems
  • Richard Tordzro, information and telecommunication systems 

Undergraduate students, College of Business:

  • Amanda Miller, MIS, analytics and marketing major
  • Trenton Rorabaugh, MIS and analytics major 
  • Jessie Titas, MIS major
  • Brayden VanOster, MIS major


February 9, 2024
Emma Snyder-Lovera, '26