Ohio University

Search within:

Top osteopathic physicians recognized at symposium

OOS logo

Ohio’s top osteopathic physicians were recognized at the 2022 Ohio Osteopathic Symposium, which returned to being held in-person. A hybrid option was available for those who were not able or preferred not to meet in-person. With total attendance at more than 460, about 200 people gathered in Columbus April 29 – May 1 to network, participate in continuing medical education activities, and discuss emerging research and important issues in osteopathic medicine. 

Award recipients of 2022 OOS

The symposium, a collaboration between the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine Society of Alumni & Friends and the Ohio Osteopathic Association, is the state’s largest osteopathic CME event. It is also a time that osteopathic physicians from across the state are recognized for their dedicated service to the community.

Awardees included:

J.O. Watson, DO, Memorial Lecture - Mitchell J. Silver, DO ('89)

Heritage College Society of Alumni & Friends

Alumnus of the Year – Mark A. Foglietti, D.O. (’82)
Outstanding Recent Graduate – Kristin M. Astrom, D.O. (’11)
Medal of Merit – Gregory Hill, D.O. (’86)
Distinguished Service – Jennifer J. Hauler, D.O. (’01)
Honorary Alumnus – Wayne R. Carlsen, D.O.

Ohio Chapter of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians

Distinguished Service – Edward E. Hosbach II, D.O. (’87)
Family Medicine Resident of the Year – Amy N. Horwitz, D.O. (’19)
Family Physician of the Year – James E. Preston, D.O.
Young Family Physician – Ryan K. Bleck, D.O.

Ohio Osteopathic Association

George L. Eckert Jr., DO Mentor of the Year – Ronald J. Russ, D.O. (’98)
Distinguished Service – Geraldine N. Urse, D.O. (’93)
M. Bridget Wagner, DO Humanitarian – Allan Miller, D.O.
Meritorious Service – Sandi Foster, Ph.D.
Trustee – Eugene D. Pogorelec, D.O. & M. Terrance Simon, D.O.