Ohio University

Heritage College takes awards event online for 2020 grads


More than 400 people attended the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine’s virtual graduate awards ceremony on Friday, May 8, as  college leaders, faculty, family and friends joined with members of the class of 2020, whose degrees were conferred on April 18.

Though he joked that he hoped the college’s first-ever virtual awards event would also be its last, Heritage College Executive Dean and Ohio University Chief Medical Affairs Officer Ken Johnson, D.O., added that he was “really grateful that we’re able to have this opportunity to connect virtually” and celebrate the class of 2020’s achievements.

Another speaker, class of 2020 Athens campus class President Dustin Peth, D.O., noted that with the three-campus Heritage College already making much use of teleconferencing to share teaching among all three sites, he and his classmates “are no strangers to seeing each other’s faces on video.” He added that the college’s statewide scope “has allowed us to reach across the great state of Ohio and beyond.”

This event recognized student award winners, graduates going into military residencies and the class’s Primary Care Associates, who spent an additional year at the Heritage College developing their teaching skills and doing research. The online event also gave graduates a chance to recite the Osteopathic Oath, led via video by faculty member Jennifer Gwilym, D.O. (’03), president of the Heritage College Society of Alumni and Friends board of directors.

Following the ceremony, participants were directed to a Class of 2020 Celebration website, where graduates could hear their new title of “Doctor” announced and listen to remarks from speakers from the college and the university. The graduate awards ceremony also was recorded and will be made available online for those not in virtual attendance.

The award winners recognized during the ceremony are as follows:

Departmental Awards


Biomedical Sciences Award

Ashley Patton, D.O., Ph.D.


Family Medicine Award

Dorvan Byler, D.O.


Obstetrics and Gynecology Award

Emily Misbrener, D.O.


OMM Award

Dorvan Byler, D.O.


Pediatrics Award

Chelsea Bitler, D,O,


Social Medicine Award

Alyssa Gerth, D.O.

Chrystal Pristell, D.O.


Global Health Award

Jiewen Li, D.O.


Specialty Medicine Award

Aaron Stover, D.O.


Clinical Awards


Cleveland Clinical Campus

Lina Costanzo, D.O.


Cleveland Clinic Akron General

Saif Jamil, D.O.


Holzer Health System          

Katherine Markesbery, D.O.


Lake Health             

Benjamin Burnham, D.O.


Firelands Regional Medical Center          

Grace Eberly, D.O. 


Adena Health System              

Heidi Johnson, D.O.   


Memorial Health System             

Morgan Stalder, D.O.


Southeast Ohio         

Allison Nostrant, D.O.


Central Ohio            

Michael Moran, D.O.


Grandview Medical Center            

Nicholas Van Benschoten, Jr., D.O.


Massillon Area           

Alisha Provost, D.O.


Mercy Health – St. Joseph Warren Hospital          

Samantha Bosak, D.O.


Mercy Health – St. Rita’s Medical Center             

Albert Bui, D.O.


Mercy Health – St. Vincent Medical Center           

Arika Knannlein, D.O.


Southern Ohio Medical Center          

Rachel Staker Brown, D.O.


Western Reserve Hospital             

Gabriel Frato, D.O.


Research Awards


Outstanding Research Award

Ashley Patton, D.O., Ph.D.

Jennifer Brubaker, D.O.


Best Case-Based Paper

Aaron Stover, D.O.


Deans’ Awards


Athens Campus

Albert Bui, D.O.


Dublin Campus

Jessica Motley, D.O.


Cleveland Campus

Chrystal Pristell, D.O.


Executive Dean’s Endowed Scholarships


E. Scott Wong, D.O., Ph.D.

Chrystal Pristell, D.O.

Jessica Motley, D.O.


All-College Awards


Diversity and Inclusion Advocate Award

Chrystal Pristell, D.O.


Osteopathic Leadership and Service Award

Nathaniel Wilburn-Ogletree, D.O.


Dr. Robbin Kirkland Award for Professionalism

Dorvan Byler, D.O.

Grace Eberly, D.O.


Osteopathic Heritage Award

Dorvan Byler, D.O.


Donna Jones Moritsugu Memorial Award

(Recognizes the spouse or partner of a graduating medical student for their support)

Jordan Provost, husband of Alisha Provost, D.O.


Graduates committed to medical service with the U.S Armed Forces



Lt. Snow Adler, D.O.

Ensign Tyler Gerwig, D.O.


Air Force

2nd Lt. Anthony Brusnahan, D.O.

2nd Lt. Ian Del Valle, D.O.

2nd Lt. Joel Hutchison, D.O.

2nd Lt. Casey Norris, D.O.

Capt. Alisha Provost, D.O.

2nd Lt. Matthew Rasch, D.O.

2nd Lt. Aaron Stover, D.O.


Primary Care Associates


Athens Family Medicine PCAs

Chelsea Brunsman, D.O.

Maggie Dade, D.O.

Alyssa Gerth, D.O.


Athens OMM PCAs

Xavier Disabato, D.O.

Amanda Disabato, D.O.

Sonja Johnson, D.O.


Dublin Dual PCAs

Dorvan Byler, D.O.

Matthew Wysong, D.O.


Cleveland Dual PCAs

Brian Cost, D.O.

Darcey Hull, D.O.