Communication Home

OU-COM Alumni Recognized at AOA Unified Conference


(Athens, OH) The Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine recognized three alumni for their contributions to the college and to osteopathic medicine, and a fourth received national recognition during events at the American Osteopathic Association’s 2010 Unified Osteopathic Medical Conference and Exposition in San Francisco.  

Faculty, CORE physicians and alumni recognized with national awards during the event, include:

·        Pfizer ‘Fit for Life’ Award

Jay H. Shubrook, D.O. (’96), F.A.C.O.F.P., F.A.A.F.P., associate professor of family medicine, TAKE ACTION program director and director of clinical research, received from the American Osteopathic Foundation the Pfizer “Fit for life” award, which encourages the promotion of active aging and total health and wellness. The American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) presented this award of $10,000 to Shubrook for his work in creating the summer fitness program TAKE ACTION that teaches children and parents healthy lifestyle choices.   

·        Merck Outstanding Resident of the Year Award

Daniel A. Clearfield, D.O., received from the American Osteopathic Foundation the Merck Outstanding Resident of the Year Award for standing out from the majority by displaying clinical promise, the ability to think outside the box, and commitment to the osteopathic profession. Clearfield, a past chair of CORE’s Osteopathic Resident Advisory Committee, recently completed his family medicine residency at Doctors Hospital. As a resident, he has been involved in many research projects and organizations. He recently started an Osteopathic Primary Care Sports Medicine fellowship at Overlook Hospital in New Jersey to pursue the sports medicine field.

·        Distinguished Osteopathic Surgeon Orel F. Martin Award

Alison Clarey, D.O., F.A.C.O.S. (Hon. ’98), was honored by the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons with this year’s Distinguished Osteopathic Surgeon Orel F. Martin Award. Clarey is currently the general surgery program director at Grandview Medical Center in Dayton and an OU-COM associate clinical professor of surgery. A 2006 recipient of the OU-COM Phillips Medal of Service, Clarey also received a CORE Master Faculty designation in 1986 and was named honorary alumnae of Ohio University in 1998. 

The alumni awards were presented during the OU-COM Society of Alumni and Friends Luncheon, which was presided over by society President Jeffrey A. Stanley, D.O. (’82), F.A.C.O.S. Stanley, who also is a member of the Ohio University Foundation Board of Trustees, updated the more than 120 in attendance about the university’s new $450 million “The Promise Lives” capital campaign. Dean Jack Brose, D.O., F.A.A.F.P., delivered his State of College of Address, including an introduction to Vision 2020, the college’s strategic plan currently under development.

James D. Joye, D.O. (’88), F.A.C.C., received the 2010 Medal of Merit. This award recognizes graduates who have shown leadership and distinction in their field of medicine.

          “Dr. Joye, has distinguished himself as an internationally renowned interventional cardiologist recognized for his work in medical device development and research as well as his contributions to medical literature and endovascular intervention education,” Brose said. 

Thomas M. Anderson, D.O. (’83), F.A.O.C.R., F.A.C.R.O., and Jeffrey A. Stanley, D.O. (’82), F.A.C.O.S., each received a Distinguished Service Award from Ohio University. This award honors graduates who have supported Ohio University and the Alumni Association through alumni chapters, clubs, societies or other organiations.  

Anderson, a leader in oncology and the osteopathic profession, has distinguished himself in the university by serving as immediate past president of the OU-COM Society of Alumni and Friends Board of Directors and the president of the Ohio University Alumni Association. Through his commitment and dedication to patient care and his devoted spirit as a volunteer and a mentor, Dr. Anderson stands out as a shining example of what an osteopathic physician should be,” Brose said.

“Dr. Stanley is a tireless supporter of both the college and the osteopathic profession.  He is a respected leader and mentor who takes every opportunity to promote his osteopathic heritage and encourage the next generation of osteopathic physicians,” Brose said. Stanley is the director of vascular surgery at South Pointe Hospital.

Other notable activities by OU-COM faculty, students and alumni include:

·        Osteopathic Heritage Foundations (OHF) Annual Research/Education Conclave

At this annual meeting of the endowed research chairs and research training programs sponsored by the OHF, two OU-COM faculty members presented research reports. Frank Schwartz, M.D., F.A.C.E., professor of endocrinology, J.O. Watson Chair for Diabetes Research and director of the ARHI Diabetes/Endocrine Center, gave a report on the center’s clinical and research projects. Brian Clark, Ph.D., assistant professor of neuromuscular biology and director of the Institute of Neuromusculoskeletal Research, presented an update on the institute’s work. Clark also presented a poster about the work going on at the institute. 

·        Alumni join AOA Leadership

Participating in their first meeting of the AOA Board of Trustees were William J. Burke, D.O. (’88), F.A.C.O.F.P., and Draion M. Burch, D.O. (’07), intern and resident representative.

·        Student Poster Presentations

Five OU-COM students presented their work at poster competitions held at the meeting. David Goss, OMS II, and Emilie Prot, OMS I, presented research posters at the AOA poster competition. Amy Vagedes, OMS II; Janell Ison, OMS II; Laura Romstedt, OMS II and Prot presented posters at the BIOMEA poster competition.

·        Student Scholarships and Grants

Two OU-COM students were recognized for their academic achievements and commitment to osteopathic studies. Rosanna Eang, OMS II, received a $2,000 Welch Scholars Grant. Amy E. Vagedes, OMS II, received a $400 Russel C. McMaughan, D.O., Education Scholarship.

  Office of Communication
Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
210 Irvine Hall, Athens, Ohio 45701
Tel: 740-593-2346  FAX: 740-593-0343
Copyright Ohio University (Home)
Last updated: 01/28/2016