Communication Home
OU-COM students, alumni recognized at ACOFP conference
In research, fellowships and awards, the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians honored individuals from OU-COM


By Richard Heck

March 20, 2009

Students and faculty at the Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine (OU-COM) made an impressive mark at the 46th Annual American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) Convention held in Washington, D.C., earlier this month.

The convention featured an extensive showing of research by students, residents and faculty of OU-COM and the Centers of Osteopathic Research and Education (CORE), OU-COM’s statewide consortium of teaching hospitals. Convention participants affiliated with the college presented 13 out of 43, or 30 percent, of the posters in the osteopathic medical research competition, including:

·        Laura Stachowicz, OMS II, second place in student competition: “Cancer screening behaviors in HIV-infected older adults”

·        Michelle Wallen, OMS III, and Meredith Violet, OMS III: honorable mention in student competition: “The effects of phenylmethimazole on the development of type 2 diabetes in LDLR knockout mice”

·        Geraldine Urse, D.O. (’93), FACOFP, clinical associate professor at Doctors Hospital in Columbus, honorable mention in faculty competition: “The role of journaling in a resident’s education”

·        Katherine Able, D.O., resident at O’Bleness Memorial Hospital in Athens, honorable mention in resident competition: “Prevalence and perception of obesity in El Salvador”

Also at the conference, four physicians affiliated with OU-COM and/or the CORE earned the designation “Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians” (FACOFP), which recognizes ACOFP members for their experience, dedication and outstanding contributions to the advancement of family practice.

Three of the four new fellows—John J. Wolf Jr., D.O. (’88), FACOFP; Ronald R. Burns, D.O. (’89), FACOFP; and Ronald J. Russ, D.O. (’98), FACOFP—are OU-COM alumni. Wolf is a clinical associate professor and program director of family medicine at St. John West Shore Hospital in Cleveland. Burns serves on the American Osteopathic Association Board of Trustees. Russ, also a clinical associate professor, serves as the CORE assistant dean at Cuyahoga Falls General Hospital.

The fourth fellow, Ioanna Z. Giatis, D.O., FACOFP, is a clinical assistant faculty member for the CORE at South Pointe Hospital in Cleveland.

According to ACOFP, fellows are chosen based upon:

·        outstanding contributions through teaching, authorship, research or professional leadership in the practice of osteopathic family medicine;

·        American Osteopathic Association or American Board of Medical Specialists certification;

·        active participation in local and state osteopathic organizations and ACOFP affiliate societies;

·        a minimum attendance for at least six ACOFP or AOA Annual Conventions during the previous 10 years; and

·        support of past and current hospital, state society and national activities of the ACOFP.

OU-COM Assistant Professor Jay H. Shubrook Jr., D.O. (’96), FACOFP, received the ACOFP Young Physician of the Year Award at the conference.

“Dr. Jay Shubrook was selected as ACOFP’s 2009 Young Osteopathic Physician of the Year for his inspiring leadership and his commitment to educating future physicians,” stated ACOFP President Jan D. Zieren, D.O., M.P.H., FACOFP-dist. “His actions demonstrate a very real approach to improving the profession of osteopathic family medicine.”

In addition to receiving the award, this week Shubrook was selected to be the new editor of ACOFP’s journal, The Osteopathic Family Physician News, which he plans to lead from its current newsletter format toward a more scholarly research journal format. 

“Dr. Shubrook is a superior academic physician, one who excels in everything he does,” said OU-COM Dean Jack Brose, D.O. “He is an authority in the field of diabetes and one of our finest teachers. He performs innovative research and valuable community service. His presence on our faculty lifts the entire college. Even though he is early in his career, Dr. Shubrook is a valuable mentor and role model to our new clinical faculty. We are very honored to have the Young Physician of the Year at our institution.”


  Office of Communication
Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
210 Irvine Hall, Athens, Ohio 45701
Tel: 740-593-2346 FAX: 740-593-0343
Copyright Ohio University (Home)
Last updated: 01/28/2016