Communication Home

Naval Medical Center Portsmouth honors OU-COM alumni

by Kevin M. Sanders
July 23, 2007

For two consecutive years, OU-COM alumni have been named Psychiatry Intern of the Year at Naval Medical Center Portsmouth (Virginia). Lt. Elizabeth Yoder, D.O. (06), and Lt. Kevin Nasky, D.O. (05), were chosen by faculty and senior residents to receive the award. Yoder received the award this year, and Nasky received it last year.

The intern of the year award goes to the post-graduate year-one resident that they felt performed the best, academically and professionally, said Cmdr. Gail Manos, M.D., director of the residency training program for psychiatry. In their turn, Kevin and Liz were selected.

As far as she knows, says Manos, it was the first time graduates from the same medical school were consecutively selected. Its pretty remarkable.

They both are very hard working, motivated and dedicated individuals who are constantly striving to do their best and meet the needs of their patients. Kevin and Liz did remarkably well in all their rotations across the board. They earned very glowing reports, whether they were rotating in family medicine or internal medicine, etc. They are very serious about their professional development and are exceptionally gifted individuals. They stood out with the faculty and residents because they go that extra mile.

I was very honored, said Yoder. I was working hard all year long but didnt expect something like this. The psychiatric interview and adapting to the psychiatric vocabulary is a different one than typically that of a physical exam, which I was trained for in medical school.  With the help of my superiors, Ive believe Ive made a lot of progress. 

Im very happy to have both of them in the program, and I think theyll be exceptional psychiatrists, said Manos.

  Office of Communication
Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
210 Irvine Hall, Athens, Ohio 45701
Tel: 740-593-2346 FAX: 740-593-0343
Copyright Ohio University (Home)
Last updated: 01/28/2016