investigators

Chertok

Ilana R. Azulay Chertok, PhD, MSN, RN, IBCLC

Professor, Associate Director
Nursing Research & Scholarship-CHSP 
Grover Center E365
740.593.4492
chertok@ohio.edu
Maternal-infant health epidemiology, lactation outcomes in gestational diabetes.

 

Benencia 2016

Fabian Benencia, PhD

Associate Professor, Immunology
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Research Center 202C
740.597.2133
benencia@ohio.edu
Antigen presenting cells in different inflammatory conditions such as diabetes and obesity.

 

Berryman 2016

Darlene Berryman, PhD, RD, LD

Professor, Nutrition
CHSP / HCOM / EBI 
Irvine 220B
740.593.2375
berrymad@ohio.edu
Obesity, depot-specific differences in adipose tissue, growth hormone, nutrition.

 

Liz Beverly Pic 4

Elizabeth Beverly, PhD

Assistant Professor
HCOM-Family Medicine 
Grosvenor 357
740.593.4616
beverle1@ohio.edu
Diabetes self-care and psychosocial challenges; qualitative methodology.

 

Chen-120x160

Xiaozhuo Chen, PhD

Associate Professor, Microbiology
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences / EBI 
Konneker Research Center 109
740.593.9699
chenx@ohio.edu
Glucose transport and glucose metabolism in cancer and diabetes.

 

Consitt

Leslie Consitt, PhD

Assistant Professor, Physiology
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Research Center 302E
740.593.2404
consitt@ohio.edu
The development and treatment of metabolic diseases associated with excess nutritional lipid intake and/or physical inactivity.

 

Karen Coschigano

Karen Coschigano, PhD

Associate Professor, Molecular/Cellular Biology
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Research Center 302D
740.593.2196
coschigk@ohio.edu
The identification of genes, proteins and regulatory pathways involved in the development of diabetic nephropathy, with an emphasis on the roles of growth hormone, signal transducer and activator of transcription 5 (STAT5), and inflammation.

 

Drozek_2017

David Drozek, DO

Assistant Professor, Surgery
HCOM-Specialty Medicine 
Parks Hall 106
678.447.2509
drozek@ohio.edu
Lifestyle Medicine

 

Berkeley Franz

Berkeley Franz, PhD

Assistant Professor, Community-based Health
HCOM-Social Medicine 
Grosvenor 311
740.593.2137
franzb@ohio.edu
Community-based health, religion and health, hospital-community engagement.

 

Guseman

Emily Guseman, PhD

Assistant Professor
HCOM-Family Medicine 
Grosvenor 348
740.593.2263
gusemane@ohio.edu
Lifestyle behaviors, physical activity, inactivity, sleep, stress responses, obesity, metabolic syndrome, and diabetes during childhood.

 

Howe

Cheryl Howe, PhD

Assoc. Prof., Exercise Physiology
CHSP-Applied Health Sciences and Wellness 
Grover Center E154
740.593.2888
howec@ohio.edu
Measurement of children's physical activity and prevention of childhood obesity.

 

sharon_inman

Sharon Inman, PhD

Associate Professor, Physiology
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Research Center 302C
740.593.2936
inmans@ohio.edu
Mechanisms and treatments for obesity-related type 2 diabetic nephropathy.

 

James

Calvin James, PhD

Chair, Associate Professor
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Irvine 225
740.593.2355
jamesca@ohio.edu
Understanding signal transduction in cells, with an emphasis on dissecting the role of protein kinase c (PKC) in this process.

 

Kopchick-120x160

John Kopchick, PhD

Goll-Ohio Eminent Scholar, Professor, Molecular Biology
HCOM / EBI 
Konneker Research Center 206A
740.593.4534
kopchick@ohio.edu
Growth hormone, aging, diabetes.

 

Lee_Kevin_2015

Kevin Lee, PhD

Assistant Professor
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
ARC 202E
740.593.2327
leek2@ohio.edu
Molecular and functional heterogeneity of white adipocytes.

 

Yang Li 2018

Yang Li, PhD

Professor, Neuroscience
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Irvine 346
740.593.2384
liy1@ohio.edu
Zinc and insulin co-secretions in beta-cells and islets.

 

List-120x160

Edward List, PhD

Scientist II
Edison Biotechnology Institute 
Konneker Research Center 218
740.593.4713
list@ohio.edu
Growth hormone, obesity, diabetes, aging, and diet.

 

Liu

Jundong Liu, PhD

Associate Professor, Computer Science
Russ College of Engineering 
Stocker 321A
740.593.1603
liu@cs.ohio.edu
Electrical engineering and computer science, medical image analysis, computer vision, computer graphics.

 

Lo_Chunmin_2015

Chunmin Lo, PhD

Assistant Professor
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Research Center 302A
740.593.2328
loc1@ohio.edu
Energy balance, glucose homeostasis and lipid metabolism.

 

Ramiro-120x160

Ramiro Malgor, MD

Associate Professor, Pathology
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Research Center 202B
740.593.2324
malgor@ohio.edu
Vascular pathology and inflammation, obesity and diabetes.

 

Marling-120x160

Cynthia Marling, PhD

Associate Professor, Computer Science
Russ College of Engineering 
Stocker 321D
740.593.1246
marling@ohio.edu
Intelligent decision support, smart and connected health.

 

McCall

Kelly McCall, PhD

Associate Professor, Specialty Medicine
HCOM-Specialty Medicine 
Academic Research Center 302B
740.593.0926
mccallk@ohio.edu
Inflammatory pathways in the pathogenesis of autoimmune & inflammatory diseases (diabetes, fatty liver disease, cancer, etc).

 

Morris

Molly Morris, PhD

Professor
Arts and Sciences-Biological Sciences 
Life Sciences 243
740.593.0337
morrism@ohio.edu
Evolutionary perspectives on energy homeostasis.

 

Najjar

Sonia M. Najjar, PhD

John J Kopchick PHD OHF Eminent Research Chair
Heritage College of Medicine 
Academic Research Center 331
740.593.2376
najjar@ohio.edu
Insulin resistance, obesity, fatty liver disease, hypertension and atherosclerosis.

 

Nicks_Shannon

Shannon Nicks, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor, Community and Public Health
CHSP 
Grover Center W337
740.597.1695
nicks@ohio.edu
Health equity, social networks, and community engaged research.

 

Nowak-120x160

Felicia Nowak, MD, PhD

Associate Professor, Molecular Endocrinology
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Research Center 202A
740.593.2223
nowak@ohio.edu
Antioxidant therapy in Type II, diabetic nephropathy, PORF-2 pathways.

 

Nunemaker 2017

Craig Nunemaker, PhD

Associate Professor
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Center 302C
740.593.2387
nunemake@ohio.edu
Early warning signs of beta-cell decline that precede the onset type 2 diabetes.

 

nick_okada

Shigeru (Nick) Okada, PhD

Assistant Professor, Pediatrics HCOM
HCOM / EBI 
Konneker Research Center 206C
750.593.9656
okada@ohio.edu
Growth, Obesity, and Diabetes.

 

Puri_Vishwajeet_2015

Vishwajeet Puri, PhD

Associate Professor
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Research Center 202D
740.593.2326
puri@ohio.edu
Fat metabolism and its role in pathogenesis and pathophysiology of metabolic disease including obesity, insulin resistance, type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular disease.

 

Schwartz-120x160

Frank Schwartz, MD, FACE

Professor, Endocrinology
HCOM-Specialty Medicine 
Academic Research Center 331
740.593.2180
schwartf@ohio.edu

 

Sharma

Vishva M. Sharma, PhD

Research Scientist
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Research Center 202F
740.593.2227
sharmav@ohio.edu
Signaling pathways and molecular mechanisms of metabolic health disparity in African Americans and Non-Hispanic Whites.

 

Slyvka

Yuriy Slyvka, PhD

Instructor
HCOM-Biomedical Sciences 
Academic Research Center 202F
740.593.2226
slyvka@ohio.edu
Transgenerational transmission of epigenetic modifications, PORF-2, diabetic nephropathy.

 

SotosPrieto

Mercedes Sotos Prieto, PhD

Assistant Professor
Food and Nutrition Science - CHSP 
Grover Center E188
740.593.9943
sotospri@ohio.edu
Dietary, lifestyle, behavioral and nutritional interventions.