Advisory Board

Who We Are

Our external board membership

The DI Advisory Board is an external, strategic contingent to aid the guidance of the institute's vision.  Particular interest of this group will be assisting with and advancing the DI goals: research, clinical, education and outreach. The Advisory Board membership will strive to include representation from the community, industry, academia, educational and government entities and will not exceed eleven members. Terms of service on the board are three years. Meeting of the board will be called by the Executive Director no more than twice annually. Members of the Advisory Board are:

Shawn Bail
Senior Director, Service Line Development, Memorial Health System
Clinical Representative
Micah Covert
President, Nelsonville-York City School District Board of Education
Community Representative
David M. Harlan, MD
William & Doris Krupp Professor of Medicine, Co-Director, Diabetes Center of Excellence & Chief, Diabetes Division, Department of Medicine, UMass Memorial / UMass Medical School
Academic/Clinical Representative
Terri Donlin Huesman
Vice President Programs, Osteopathic Heritage Foundation
Foundation Representative
Robert S. Juhasz, DO
President, American Osteopathic Association & President, South Pointe Hospital, Cleveland Clinic
Clinical Representative
Lori Laffel, MD, MPH
Adolescent and Young Adult Section, Joslin Diabetes Center, Chief of Pediatric
Academic Representative
David Scholl, PhD
OU Board of Trustees, Athenian Venture Partners
Community Representative
Andrew Wapner, DO, MPH
Assist. Prof. & Director, Center for Public Health Practice, The Ohio State University College of Public Health
Academic Representative