Dublin Primary Care Scholarship


2020 PC scholarship recipients

2016-2017 recipients of the Dublin Primary Care Scholarship: From left are Kelsey Maag, David Hixson, Astian Waite, Frank Joya-Estrella, Tallib Karaze, Cassie Lawrence, Seth Yates, Jessica Motley. (See previous winners below.)

Primary care scholarships for Heritage College medical students

These scholarships are funded by the Osteopathic Heritage Foundations and are intended for students at the Heritage College Dublin location that plan to practice primary care in the state of Ohio (see details below). 

Students committed to practicing primary care prior to matriculation may apply for this scholarship at any time after they are admitted and before the final deadline of June 2, 2017. Students who receive this scholarship during their first year of enrollment will receive the following:

  • First Year = $10,000
  • Fourth Year = $30,000  (awarded after the student has “matched” into a primary care residency – generally in late-March of the student’s fourth year)

Application Criteria

In order to be considered for the Heritage College Dublin Primary Care Scholarship, you must meet ALL of the following criteria:

  • Must be a currently admitted student who was selected for the Dublin location.
  • Must have the intention to complete a primary care residency (Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Pediatrics) in Ohio and then practice primary care full-time in Ohio for 3 years following residency.
  • Must demonstrate Ohio residency (for the purpose of this scholarship “Ohio residency” means that the student attended high school in the state of Ohio).
  • Must be able to demonstrate a pattern of community service prior to medical school.
  • Must submit a FAFSA (including parental data regardless of age or marital status) in order to determine “financial need".  All students have some level of financial need so don’t assume that you don’t have “need”. In other words if you meet the other criteria you should apply for this scholarship regardless of whether you think that you have financial need.

Application Process

The Heritage College Dublin students in the incoming Class of 2021 may apply for this scholarship at any time after being admitted until June 2, 2017. Scholarships may be awarded in two rounds. All students will remain in consideration until the final round, which will be awarded after June 2, 2017.

In order to apply for this scholarship, you must do the following:

  • Submit an essay describing how you meet all of the criteria for this scholarship. The essay should be no longer than 2 pages.  The quality of your essay will be a determining factor. Be sure to read the important tips below for writing your essay.
  • S ubmit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) including your parents' information regardless of your age or marital status. See below for more detailed information about submitting a FAFSA. 

Your application essay may be submitted at any time but must be received by the Financial Aid Office at the Heritage College by midnight June 2, 2017. You may submit the documents as follows:


You can email your application with essay attached to ou-hcom.finaid@ohio.edu.


You can mail your application essay to our mailing address:

Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine, Financial Aid Office
Office of Student Affairs
Attn:  Financial Aid
Grosvenor Hall 008
1 Ohio University
Athens, Ohio 45701-2979

We will contact you by e-mail to let you know when we have received all elements required for your Heritage College Dublin Primary Care Scholarship Application.

Once the essay and FAFSA are received, they will go to the scholarship committee to be ranked.  Students with the top rankings will be contacted for a personal scholarship interview. 

Special Note: Students are not allowed to be scholarship recipients of both the Rural and Urban Scholars Program and this scholarship. Awardees of the Dublin Primary Care Scholarship funding may participate in the RUSP program (if selected) but may not receive RUSP scholarship funding. 

Miscellaneous important information about applying for this scholarship:

Applicants will be ranked based on the following:

  • Quality and strength of your scholarship essay submission;
  • Information that you provided on your Admission Application (including but not limited to your admission essay, reference letters, employment history, etc.);
  • Feedback from your on-campus Admissions Interview;
  • Financial Need – generally based on FAFSA data; (again – if you meet the other criteria, you should apply for this scholarship regardless of your financial need)
  • Quality and strength of personal scholarship interview (if invited to interview).

Tips for writing the essay

Keep in mind that the quality of your essay weighs in the decision factor. As indicated above, the scholarship committee will review your original admissions essay; so use this opportunity to explain your commitment to primary care and to remaining in Ohio to practice primary care. Be sure to mention your community service efforts and include any community service activities that you have participated in since you originally submitted your admissions application. It may be helpful to highlight your ties to Ohio. 



The Heritage College FAFSA Code is E00306.

If applying for this scholarship after January 1, 2017, you must use the 2017-18 FAFSA. You must submit your parents’ financial information on your FAFSA regardless of your age or marital status. If you do not submit parental information on your FAFSA, you will not be considered for this scholarship. If you have questions about the FAFSA, you may contact the financial aid office at ou-hcom.finaid@ohio.edu  or 740.593.2158.

Previous Scholarship Recipients

PC scholarship winners 2019

2015-2016 recipients: From left are Dorvan Byler, Shannon Flahive, Kyle Maus, Keilah Ketron, Ryan Paulus, Katy Anderson, Rachael Pappa, Kim Di Mauro 

Dublin Scholarship Recipients

2014-2015 recipients:  Front row from left are Hannah Logsdon, Zachary Daniels, Rebekah Lantz, Shandra Basil, Amanda Jude; back row from left are Allyson Byrne, Zachary Orlins, Jacob Nafziger.