Who We Are

The Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine

The Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) of the American Osteopathic Association, which is authorized to accredit colleges of osteopathic medicine by the U.S. Department of Education. Ohio University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), which is one of six regional accreditors in the United States.  It accredits degree granting post-secondary educational institutions in 10 states in the North Central region.

The Heritage College underwent its seven year comprehensive accreditation visit by the COCA, November 3-7, 2014. The COCA inspection team visited both the Athens and Dublin campuses. The College met all 96 standards, received two commendations, and is fully accredited through the fall of 2021.

The Executive Dean implemented a formal/structured self-study process to assist in preparation for this recent comprehensive accreditation visit and to support continuous improvement efforts across the College.   Integral to the self-study process and continuous improvement efforts has been the creation of a Self-Study Accreditation Team consisting of faculty, staff, and students. This team provides oversight to the self-study process. 

The Heritage College Cleveland campus underwent a successful focused site visit by the COCA on November 4-6, 2015.  The College met all standards reviewed and received one commendation.  Likewise, the Dublin campus had a successful Year 3 focused site visit by the COCA on October 13-14, 2016. The College met all standards reviewed and received two commendations.

Recruiting continues for the 2017-2018 admissions cycle for all three campuses (Athens, Dublin, and Cleveland).

COCA Standards Effective JULY 1, 2017  

OU Institutional Accreditation



Student Complaints Regarding Non-Compliance with AOA Accreditation Standards

Self-Study Accreditation Team's Collaboration Platform

Looking forward

In a process now well underway, the nation’s medical colleges are moving toward a single system of accreditation for both D.O. and M.D. schools.

In July 2014, at the annual meeting of the American Osteopathic Association’s House of Delegates, representatives of the nation’s osteopathic physicians and medical students voted to support an historic resolution by the AOA Board of trustees, to pursue a single accreditation system for graduate medical education, covering colleges for both D.O.s and M.D.s.

Earlier, in February 2014, the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) had agreed to work together in a single-accreditation system.

Under the new arrangement AOA and AACOM representatives have been seated on the ACGME, creating a single accrediting body for all U.S. residencies and fellowships, both osteopathic and allopathic.

The new system will be fully implemented by July 2020, allowing graduates of both D.O. and M.D. schools to complete their residencies and/or fellowships in programs accredited by the ACGME.

The unique elements of osteopathic medical training will be preserved and recognized in the new system. In February 2015, the Board of Directors of the ACGME voted unanimously to adopt Osteopathic Recognition Requirements set by the council's Osteopathic Principles Committee, as well as Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine (ONMM) Requirements set by its ONMM Review Committee.

According to AACOM, what this means is that "the essence of osteopathic graduate medical education is now codified into ACGME program requirements.”