Ohio University

Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship Event

The McClure School Advisory Board invites you to join us for a unique Athens experience while supporting students of our school. Attendees have an option of participating in a scramble golf tournament at the Ohio University Golf Course or a zip-line excursion in the beautiful Hocking Hills. Following the events, participants will enjoy a reception and dinner on the OU Inn Patio. Transportation provided to and from each event.

2020 Event Itinerary:

Thursday, September 17th:

  • Thomas Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship Event – Multiple Locations
    Event Itinerary:
    • Tournament shotgun start – 10:00am
      • $175 per participant
    • Zip-Line excursion departure – 11:00am
      • $175 per participant
    • Reception/Banquet – 6:30pm – 8:30pm
      • Included in participant fee
      • $100 – reception/banquet only

Venue information:

Golf Tournament Participants
Ohio University Golf Course: Click to view
Zip-line Participants
Hocking Hills Canopy Tours: Click to view
Reception & Banquet
Ohio University Inn: Click to view

Please click to register or make payment as a participant or sponsor: Registration web site.

In 2002, Thomas Lonsbury — an avid golfer and member of the McClure School Advisory Board — suggested that the board establish a scholarship for outstanding students in the then named McClure School of Information and Telecommunication Systems (ITS) program and fund it with the proceeds of a golf classic. The Board agreed and promptly named Lonsbury chair of the Advisory Board Thomas Lonsbury Scholarship Golf Classic.

Lonsbury chaired the event until his death in 2012. That year’s tournament was the first to be called the Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship Golf Classic. Advisory Board member Garon Gentzel has taken over leadership of the event, which continues to be a successful fundraiser, and added the option for participants who don't golf to engage in a zip-line experience.

Proceeds from this event benefit the students of the now named Ohio University J. Warren McClure School of Emerging Communication Technologies (ECT) with a major in Information and Telecommunication Systems (ITS). In the past 19 years, we have built an endowed fund of over $150,000 and presented 35 scholarships to worthy Ohio University students in the McClure School.This year, the Advisory Board had the pleasure of awarding 8 outstanding students the Thomas Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship for next academic year.  Please join us in congratulating Josie Book, Duncan Farquhar, Jack Russo, Katie Kobasuk, Cameron Gatton, Keaton Huffman, Alexis Fogle, and Nickolas Johnson as recipients of a 2020-21 Thomas Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship.

This continues the trend of presenting multiple awards in the same year, which would not be possible without your generous support and that of over 150 annual contributors to our fund. The McClure School Advisory Board thanks you for your support!

The students’ success depends on you! Whether you are a past tournament player, or a new potential sponsor or player, your participation will help provide support to a deserving student in the McClure School.

Please click to register or make payment as a participant or sponsor: Registration web site.


Garon Gentzel
2020Tournament Chair and McClure School Advisory Board Member

Golf classic logo