For more information:

Department of Political Science

Bentley Annex 266
Athens, OH 45701

Professor Kathleen Sullivan
View Site  

College of Arts and Sciences

Undergraduate Student Affairs
Athens, OH

View Site  

Undergraduate Admissions

120 Chubb Hall
1 Ohio University
Athens, OH 45710

View Site  

Department of Political Science  

The Department of Political Science, in the College of Arts and Sciences, offers over 60 undergraduate courses and a variety of graduate courses to prepare students for responsibilities as citizens, leaders, and professional political scientists in a democratic society and an interdependent world. Political Science majors can pursue a bachelor of arts degree. Students interested in a deeper study of political science may enroll for their degree through the Honors Tutorial College. Additionally, a political science minor can be declared after 18 hours of coursework.

The Department of Political Science also provides internship opportunities for students to receive academic credit while gaining practical experience in legal settings, state and local government, and non-profit organizations. Extracurricular opportunities for political science majors include the Pi Sigma Alpha Honors Society and the Political Science Majors Association.

OHIO political science graduates are regularly admitted to the most prestigious law schools, receive scholarships and fellowship to outstanding graduate schools, and have achieved success in a variety of careers, including the federal government, state and local government, law, journalism, education, and the business world.

College of Arts and Sciences

The College of Arts and Sciences is home to 19 departments, 27 majors and dozens of other special curricula. The college is committed to advancing the interrelated areas of teaching, research, and outreach in a learning-centered community. The college instructs students based on core disciplines for the entire university.

Arts and Sciences is home to nearly one-third of all OHIO's undergraduate and graduate students. The college encourages research and applied scholarship among all of its faculty members. They also create many opportunities for undergraduates to be involved in research as well. The college takes an active role in making knowledge accessible and in applying it to issues that affect the wider community.

All departmental majors provide sound preparation for future careers by requiring you to think and write critically and to communicate well - the preferred skills in all areas of the public and private sector. Certificate programs are open to students who are enrolled in any baccalaureate program, regardless of college or major. Minors in the College of Arts and Sciences may be combined with any regular majors or special curricula programs. With careful planning, minors can be completed within four years.

Ohio University

Established in 1804, Ohio University is the oldest public institution of higher learning in the state of Ohio and the first in the Northwest Territory. Admission to Ohio University is granted to the best-qualified applicants as determined by a selective admission policy.