For more information:

Department of Mathematics

Morton Hall 321
Athens, OH 45701

View Site  

College of Arts and Sciences

Undergraduate Student Affairs
Athens, OH

View Site  

Undergraduate Admissions

120 Chubb Hall
1 Ohio University
Athens, OH 45710

View Site  

Actuarial Sciences  

The following program is intended to prepare students for entering the actuarial profession. You should be prepared to pass the first actuarial examination before graduation.

The Department of Mathematics offers undergraduate degrees with majors in mathematics, applied mathematics, mathematical statistics, and actuarial sciences and a minor in mathematics. In addition, the department hosts an interdisciplinary meteorology major as well as a mathematics major program through the Honors Tutorial College (HTC) for students with exceptionally strong records. Besides quality undergraduate programs, the department also supports Masters and Ph.D. programs in applied, pure, and computational mathematics.

Our Faculty

To view our entire faculty, please click here.



Actuarial Sciences
Applied Mathematics
Meteorology (Mathematics)
Mathematical Statistics

College of Arts and Sciences

The College of Arts and Sciences is home to 19 departments, 27 majors and dozens of other special curricula. The college is committed to advancing the interrelated areas of teaching, research, and outreach in a learning-centered community. The college instructs students based on core disciplines for the entire university.

Arts and Sciences is home to nearly one-third of all OHIO's undergraduate and graduate students. The college encourages research and applied scholarship among all of its faculty members. They also create many opportunities for undergraduates to be involved in research as well. The college takes an active role in making knowledge accessible and in applying it to issues that affect the wider community.

All departmental majors provide sound preparation for future careers by requiring you to think and write critically and to communicate well - the preferred skills in all areas of the public and private sector. Certificate programs are open to students who are enrolled in any baccalaureate program, regardless of college or major. Minors in the College of Arts and Sciences may be combined with any regular majors or special curricula programs. With careful planning, minors can be completed within four years.

Ohio University

Established in 1804, Ohio University is the oldest public institution of higher learning in the state of Ohio and the first in the Northwest Territory. Admission to Ohio University is granted to the best-qualified applicants as determined by a selective admission policy.