For more information:

Department of Geography

Clippinger Laboratories 122
Athens, OH 45701

Dr. Geoff Buckley
Assistant Professor  
View Site  

College of Arts and Sciences

Undergraduate Student Affairs
Athens, OH

View Site  

Undergraduate Admissions

120 Chubb Hall
1 Ohio University
Athens, OH 45710

View Site  

Department of Geography  

The Ohio University Department of Geography, in the College of Arts and Sciences, is a dynamic department with 160 majors and 35 minors. The department offers six degree programs and a graduate and undergraduate certificate program in Geographic Information Science. The undergraduate programs are Geographic Information Science, Geography, Environmental Geography, Environmental Pre-Law, Meteorology and Urban Planning. There are also minors available in Geography and Meteorology. The Department of Geography’s innovative programs provide multiple perspectives and tools for understanding relationships between people and the environment related to local and global change. Six scholarships are awarded annually by the department, five for undergraduates and one for a graduate student.

College of Arts and Sciences

The College of Arts and Sciences is home to 19 departments, 27 majors and dozens of other special curricula. The college is committed to advancing the interrelated areas of teaching, research, and outreach in a learning-centered community. The college instructs students based on core disciplines for the entire university.

Arts and Sciences is home to nearly one-third of all OHIO's undergraduate and graduate students. The college encourages research and applied scholarship among all of its faculty members. They also create many opportunities for undergraduates to be involved in research as well. The college takes an active role in making knowledge accessible and in applying it to issues that affect the wider community.

All departmental majors provide sound preparation for future careers by requiring you to think and write critically and to communicate well - the preferred skills in all areas of the public and private sector. Certificate programs are open to students who are enrolled in any baccalaureate program, regardless of college or major. Minors in the College of Arts and Sciences may be combined with any regular majors or special curricula programs. With careful planning, minors can be completed within four years.

Ohio University

Established in 1804, Ohio University is the oldest public institution of higher learning in the state of Ohio and the first in the Northwest Territory. Admission to Ohio University is granted to the best-qualified applicants as determined by a selective admission policy.