Ohio University

LGBT Awards

Stonewall Leadership Award

The LGBT Center is proud to support the Annual Leadership Awards Gala hosted by the Division of Student Affairs  As part of the Gala, the LGBT Center awards the Stonewall Leadership Award to a student leader and campus organization/group.  

The Stonewall Leadership Award, instituted in 2000, is designed to recognize outstanding student leadership that improves the lives of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and/or queer communities on and off campus.

The award is named in honor of the 1969 riots at the Stonewall Inn in New York City, actions that some consider to have started the modern LGBT equality movement. The award is a way of celebrating queer academic innovation that reflects the spectrum of sexual and gender diversities as well activism and community engagement that sparks awareness-raising regarding LGBTQ identities and our experiences.

The Stonewall Leadership Award Committee accepts nominations and self-nominations of undergraduate/graduate students of all academic disciplines as well as student groups who have embodied LGBT inclusion.  If you have any questions, contact delfin at bautista@ohio.edu.

Nomination period begins early in Spring semester each academic year through OrgSync, connect with us social media and/or signup to receive our newsletter for announcements on nomination process.  

Stonewall Awardees

  • 2018 - Joseph Metcalf and SHADES
  • 2016 - Morgan Kohls, Paige Klatt, and POWER/Gamma
  • 2015 - Nelly Herman and Camden Bailey
  • 2014 - Jesper Beckholt
  • 2013 - Ryan Vollrath
  • 2012 - Cory Frederick
  • 2011 - Amelia Shaw and Lacey Rogers
  • 2010 - Kate Steven and Michael Korte
  • 2009 - Kate Sayre
  • 2008 - Erica Boehnlein
  • 2007 - Kim Rogers and Will Wemer
  • 2006 - Gretchen Cataline
  • 2005 - Doug Cloud and Elliot Long
  • 2004 - Becca Hammond
  • 2003 - Paul Patton
  • 2002 - Lauren Fischer
  • 2001 - Collin Lovell


Wayne Hadley Scholarship's LGBT Travel Award Recipients

More coming soon


Pride Graduation Awards

Pride Graduation is an annual celebration of the accomplishments of LGBTQ graduates, including undergraduate, graduate, and high school students.   In addition to celebrating those graduating, the center also recognizes the contributions of students, faculty, staff, academic departments, and others through various awards. 

Award Recipients

coming soon