Skip to: Main Content Search Main Navigation Audience Navigation
Apply Online Spring
Visit Campus
Request More Information
Ohio University Lancaster Campus Theatre
Information about Events being held on Campus
Class Cancellation Notification Plan
Ohio University Lancaster Campus Athletics
December 19, 2018 : Call for Nominations: Jane Johnsen Women of Vision Award


Each year, Ohio University Lancaster | Pickerington honors a local woman who has made significant contributions in our community.  Nominations are solicited from the Fairfield County area, and the recipient will be announced at the 2019 Celebrate Women Conference.


The Jane Johnsen Women of Vision Award was established in 2013 and is named in honor of Dr. Jane Johnsen in recognition of her dedication to advocacy for women’s issues both on the Ohio University Lancaster Campus and in Fairfield County. During her 25 years as assistant professor of education at OUL, Johnsen was an advocate of diversity and women’s issues, creating the Women in Technology and Science program and challenging and mentoring students as they worked to fulfill their academic goals. Johnsen passed away in January, 2013.


See the flier here. Criteria for eligible nominees includes:

1.   Member of the Ohio University or Fairfield County communities; and

2.   Demonstrated commitment to advocating and promoting women’s issues


A letter of nomination for the award must be submitted for consideration.  Additional supporting materials (e.g., letters of support, examples of work) may also be provided.  Nominations will be reviewed by members of Ohio University Lancaster’s Celebrate Women Planning Committee.


Please submit letter of nomination and supporting materials by Friday, February 1, 2019 to: Candice Thomas-Maddox at


Now in its 13th year and organized by Ohio University Lancaster faculty, staff, and students, the Celebrate Women Conference aims to bridge women’s relationships in areas of community, university and professions.


The 2019 Celebrate Women Conference is scheduled for Friday, March 22, 2019 at Ohio University Lancaster.