Skip to: Main Content Search Main Navigation Audience Navigation
Apply Online Spring
Visit Campus
Request More Information
Ohio University Lancaster Campus Theatre
Information about Events being held on Campus
Class Cancellation Notification Plan
Ohio University Lancaster Campus Athletics
May 07, 2017 : Ohio University Lancaster Men’s Golf Team Wins Championship


The Ohio University Lancaster Men’s golf team won the 2017 Ohio Regional Campus Conference tournament at their home course, the Valley View Golf Club. The OUL five-man team finished with a two-round total of 653. The winning effort was led by team captain Shane Eltzroth's closing round of 76 to claim the title.

"The tournament weather conditions were very cold and rainy," said Franco Guerriero, Associate Professor of Mathematics for Ohio University Lancaster who serves as the teams's coach, "and our guys's showed an enormous amount of grit to persevere through those conditions and win."



The 2017 team roster consists of Jordan Barr, a Fairfield Union graduate, Shane Eltzroth, Pickerington Central, Jarred Kreutz, Bloom Carroll, Scotty Phillips, Bloom Carroll, Kolt Wiley, Liberty Union and Chaz Neil, a Miller High School Graduate and coach Franco Guerriero.


“This team struggled throughout the regular season but kept competing and really came together as the season progressed,” said Jeff Whitehead, Athletic and Student Activities Director, “That’s what makes this victory so special.”


Ohio University Lancaster Campus supports several athletic teams including men's and women's basketball, women's volleyball, baseball, golf, men's and women's tennis and softball.


The Ohio Regional Campus Conference was founded in 1973 and is an independent sports organization that serves the State of Ohio's regional campuses. The ORCC has nine member colleges and currently fields eight sports-women's volleyball, women's basketball, men's basketball, women's softball, women's tennis, men's baseball, men's tennis, and golf.


Photo Caption: L to R: Kolt Wiley, Shane Eltzroth, Eric Pistole, Coach Franco Gurriero, Chaz Neil, Scotty Phillips, Jarred Kruetz, not pictured Jordan Barr.