Search within:

Directors and Deans

Ohio University Lancaster’s Directors and Deans have been leaders of the academic programs, faculty, and students on campus and have been tasked with setting the university’s overall academic vision and strategy. They are leaders and scholars who have helped to advance academic excellence through strong principles and values. Their personal histories are diverse, but they are unified in their aspirations to progress the goals set forth by Ohio University. They have set the highest standards for academic governance and have strengthened the outcomes of our students, alumni, community leaders, faculty, staff, and administrative teams. Each has served a vital role in shaping the future of our institution. 


Dr. Lewatis McNeal

2023 to Present

Lewatis McNeal, Ph.D.
Interim Dean of Campus and Community Relations


Dr. Jarrod Tudor

2020 to 2023

Jarrod Tudor, Ph.D., LL.M.
Dean of Campus and Community Relations*


2010 to 2020

James M. Smith, Ph.D.

2008 to 2010

John Furlow, Ph.D.

2005 to 2008

MaryAnn Janosik, Ph.D.

2003 to 2005

John Furlow, Ph.D.
Interim Dean

2000 to 2003

Bari Watkins, Ph.D.

1999 to 2000

John Furlow, Ph.D.
Interim Dean

1995 to 1999

Charles P. Bird, Ph.D.

1994 to 1995

Joseph Tucker, Ph.D.
Interim Dean

1978 to 1994

Raymond Wilkes, Ph.D.

1977 to 1978

Edward Sarno, Ph.D.
Interim Dean

1970 to 1977

Lowell V. LeClair, Ph.D.

1969 to 1970

Paul Mechling
Interim Director

1965 to 1969

Thomas L. Helms, Ph.D.

1956 to 1965

Howard E. Kirk

*The title of the chief operating officer of a regional campus was changed from director to dean in 1976 when James C. Bryant was appointed to the new position of vice provost for regional higher education at Ohio University. Bryant was the former assistant director of the Ohio University Lancaster campus. During 1972-1973 he was acting director while the director was on leave. In 2020, the title of dean was changed to dean of campus and community relations as part of the One OHIO initiative.