Ohio University

State Authorization

Distance Education

Distance education has been an important part of Ohio University's program offerings for more than 100 years. Recent amendments to the Higher Education Act of 1965 include changes in regulation for state authorization that may impact online, distance, and print-based education providers. The related regulations include:

If an institution is offering postsecondary education through distance or correspondence education to students in a State in which it is not physically located or in which it is otherwise subject to State jurisdiction as determined by the State, the institution must meet any State requirements for it to be legally offering postsecondary distance or correspondence education in that State. An institution must be able to document to the Secretary the State's approval upon request. (Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1001 and 1002)

State Authorization for Distance Education

Ohio University is working to evaluate and comply with these changes and will provide up-to-date information as it becomes available.

Please check with your program director/advisor for more information.

  • Blue = Authorized and SARA state
  • Green = Authorized

Click a state to see its authorization status.

You can also select from the "STATE LIST" dropdown in the navigation panel to the left (or above if on a mobile device). Washington D.C. and the U.S. Virgin Islands are only visible in the dropdown list.

California

California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education

Licensing Chief:
Leeza Rifredi
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
916-431-6959

Complaint Process:
Enforcement Unit - To file a complaint against a school or to speak with an Enforcement Unit staff member, please call (888) 370-7589, press 3 when prompted.
Enforcement Chief - Yvette Johnson Enforcement E-mail: bppe.enforcement@dca.ca.gov

Pennsylvania

State Portal Entity Contact:
Patricia Landis
Division Chief
Department of Education
Division of Higher and Career Education
333 Market Street
Harrisburg, PA 17126
717.783.8228
plandis@pa.gov

Ohio

Authorized and a SARA State

Alabama

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
G. G. Fitch, Executive Director
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
100 N. Union St. #782
Montgomery, Alabama 36104
Al.sara@ache.edu

Alaska

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Kierke Kussart
Program Coordinator Institutional Authorization
Alaska Commission on Post Secondary Education
PO Box 110505
Juneau, AK 99811-0505
907.465.6741
kierke.kussart@alaska.gov

Arizona

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Lanna Dueck
2323 W. 14th Street
Tempe, AZ 85281
480.517.8226
ldueck.azsara@riosalado.edu
http://azsara.arizona.edu

Arkansas

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Alana Boles
Program Specialist, Academic Affairs
Arkansas Department of Higher Education
423 Main Street, Suite 400
Little Rock, AR 72201
501.371.2060
alana.boles@adhe.edu

Colorado

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Heather Delange
Academic Policy Officer
Department of Higher Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1600
Denver, CO 80202
303.862.3005
heather.delange@dhe.state.co.us

Connecticut

Authorized and a SARA State

The Connecticut Office of Higher Education

Director:
Patricia Santoro
Academic Affairs
Office of Higher Education
860-947-1822
PSantoro@ctdhe.org

Complaint Process:
We ask that students first exhaust their school’s internal grievance or complaint procedures. If the student’s concern remains unresolved, he/she may submit a written complaint form to our agency. A description of the complaint process is available at http://www.ctohe.org/StudentComplaints.shtml

The complaint form is available by contacting our Education & Employment Information Center at (800)-842-0229 or edinfo@ctohe.org.

Delaware

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Wendy Modzelewski
Teacher & Administrator Quality and Higher Education Approval
Teacher & Leader Effectiveness Unit
Delaware Department of Education
Delaware Higher Education Office
Townsend Building
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901
302-857-3312
wendy.modzelewski@doe.k12.de.us

District of Columbia

Authorized and a SARA State

Florida

Commission for Independent Education Florida Department of Education

Executive Director:
Samuel Ferguson
325 W. Gaines St, Suite 1414
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
Phone: 850-245-3200
Fax: 850-245-3233
Joey.Smith@fldoe.org

Complaint Process:
Commission for Independent Education
325 W. Gaines Street, Suite 1414
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
Or E-mail: amy.lefstead@fldoe.org
Or Fax: (850) 245-3238

Georgia

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Patricia “Pat” Neri
GA-SARA Coordinator
Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission (GNPEC)
2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220
Tucker, GA 30084
770.414.3235
GASARA@gnpec.org

Hawaii

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Bobbi Lum-Mew
Program Administrator
Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program (HPEAP)
Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
P.O. Box 541
Honolulu, HI 96809
808-586-7327
hpeap@dcca.hawaii.gov

Idaho

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Valerie Fenske
Idaho Private Colleges & Proprietary Schools Coordinator
Idaho State Board of Education
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0037
208.332.1587
valerie.fenske@osbe.idaho.gov

Illinois

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Nkechi Onwuameze, PhD
Assistant Director for Academic Affairs
Illinois SARA Coordinator
Illinois Board of Higher Education
1 N. Old State Capitol Plaza, Suite 333
Springfield, Illinois 62701-1377
217.557.7382
sara@ibhe.org

Indiana

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Ken Sauer
Senior Associate Commissioner and Chief Academic Officer
Indiana Commission for Higher Education
101 W. Ohio Street, Suite 550
Indianapolis, IN 46204-1984
317.232.1090
academics@che.in.gov

Iowa

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Jayna Grauerholz, J.D.
Postsecondary Registration Compliance Officer
Iowa College Student Aid Commission
430 East Grand Ave, FL 3
Des Moines, IA 50309-1920
515.725.3431
515.725.3401 fax
jayna.grauerholz@iowa.gov

Kansas

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Jennifer L. Armour
Business Analyst, Private Postsecondary Education
Kansas Board of Regents
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 520
Topeka, KS 66612-1368
785.296.2410
jarmour@ksbor.org

Kentucky

State Portal Entity Contact:
Sarah Levy
Director of Postsecondary Licensing
Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320
Frankfort, KY 40601
502.573.1555 ext. 350
sarah.levy@ky.gov

Louisiana

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Larry Tremblay
Deputy Commissioner for Planning, Research and Academic Affairs
Louisiana Board of Regents
1201 N. Third St., Suite 6-200
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225.342.4253
larry.tremblay@la.gov

Maine

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Angel Loredo
Higher Education Specialist
Department of Higher Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0023
207.624.6846
angel.loredo@maine.gov

Maryland

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Koliwe Moyo
Online Education Analyst
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 N. Liberty Street, 10th fl
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
410.767.3297
koliwe.moyo1@maryland.gov

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Department of Higher Education (DHE)

Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
One Ashburton Place, Room 1401
Boston, MA 02108
Email: approvalquery@bhe.mass.edu

Complaint Process:
http://www.mass.edu/forstufam/complaints/complaints.asp

Angela Williams
Paralegal and Coordinator for Accountability & Regulatory Affairs
(617) 994-6963
awilliams@bhe.mass.edu

Michigan

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Michael Beamish, Manager
State of Michigan
Dept. of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing
Schools and Licensing
PO Box 30018
Lansing, MI 48909
517.241.6806 phone
517.373.2162 fax
beamishm@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Betsy Talbot
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
Saint Paul, MN 55108
651.259.3965
Betsy.Talbot@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Menia Dykes
Director of Accreditation
Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning
3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson, MS 39211
601.432.6372
mdykes@mississippi.edu

Missouri

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Leroy Wade
Assistant Commissioner
Missouri Department of Higher Education
205 Jefferson Street
P.O. Box 1469
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1469
573.751.2361
leroy.wade@dhe.mo.gov

Montana

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Elizabeth Ternes
Academic Policy Specialist
Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education
Montana University System
PO Box 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201
406.444.0311
eternes@montana.edu

Nebraska

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Kathleen L. Fimple, Ph.D.
Academic Programs Officer
Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 95005
Lincoln, NE 68509-5005
402.471.0030
Kathleen.Fimple@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Crystal Abba
Vice Chancellor for Academic & Student Affairs
Nevada System of Higher Education
2601 Enterprise Road
Reno, NV 89512
775.784.4901
crystal_abba@nshe.nevada.edu

New Hampshire

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Edward R. MacKay, Director
Division of Higher Education
Higher Education Commission
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-3494
603.271.0256
Edward.MacKay@doe.nh.gov

New Jersey

Authorized and a SARA State

New Jersey Secretary of Higher Education

Director of Licensure:
Eric Taylor, Esq.
(609) 984-3738
eric.taylor@oshe.nj.gov

Complaint Process

New Mexico

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
David Mathews
General Counsel
New Mexico Higher Education Department
2048 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87505
505.476.8402
david.mathews@state.nm.us

New York

Authorized and a SARA State

(New York) Office of College and University Evaluation

Director:
Leslie Templeman
Office of College and University Evaluation
New York State Education Department
leslie.templeman@nysed.gov

Complaint Process

North Carolina

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Elizabeth McDuffie
Executive Director
North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority
P.O. Box 14103
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709
919.248.4673
emcduffie@ncseaa.edu

North Dakota

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Tanya Spilovoy
Director, Distance Education & State Authorization
North Dakota University System
1815 Schafer St., Ste. 202
Bismarck, ND 58501-1217
701.328.4102
tanya.spilovoy@ndus.edu

Oklahoma

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Daniel Archer
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
655 Research Parkway, Ste. 200
P.O. Box 108850
Oklahoma City, OK 73101-8850
405.225.9142
darcher@osrhe.edu

Oregon

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Juan Baez-Arevalo
Director of Private Post-secondary Education
Higher Education Coordinating Commission
775 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301
503.947.5977
juan.baez-arevalo@state.or.us

Puerto Rico

The Puerto Rico Council on Education

Acting Executive Director:
David Báez Dávila
787-641-7100
dbaez@ce.pr.gov

Complaint Process

Rhode Island

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Michael Walker-Jones
Assistant Commissioner/External Affairs
RI Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner
560 Jefferson Blvd.
Warwick, Rhode Island 02886-1304
401.736.1122
Michael.Walker-Jones@riopc.edu

South Carolina

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Clay Barton
South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
1122 Lady Street, Suite 300
Columbia, SC 29201
803.737.7781
Cbarton@che.sc.gov

South Dakota

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Katie Boehnke
Academic Affairs Specialist
South Dakota SARA Coordinator
South Dakota Board of Regents
306 East Capitol Ave., Suite 200
Pierre, SD 57501
605.773.3455
Katie.Boehnke@sdbor.edu

Tennessee

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Julie Woodruff
Director of Postsecondary School Authorization and Lead Attorney
Tennessee Higher Education Commission
404 James Robertson Parkway, Suite 1900
Nashville, TN 37243
615.253.8857
julie.woodruff@tn.gov

Texas

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Jessica Acton
Program Director
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
1200 E. Anderson Lane
Austin, TX 78752
512.427.6214
jessica.acton@thecb.state.tx.us

Utah

State Portal Agency Contact:

Administrator:
Cynthia “Cyd” Gruar
Office of the Commissioner for Higher Education
Utah System of Higher Education
Board of Regents Building, The Gateway
60 S 400 W
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111
801.321.7152
cgrua@ushe.edu

U.S. Virgin Islands

State Portal Agency Contact:

Camille McKayle
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
University of the Virgin Islands
#2 John Brewers Bay
St. Thomas, USVI 00802
340.693.1200
cmckayl@uvi.edu

Vermont

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Cassandra Ryan
School Finance Analyst
Vermont Agency of Education
120 State St.
Montpelier, VT 05620
802.479.8545
Cassandra.Ryan@state.vt.us

Virginia

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Darlene Derricott
Director of Academic Services
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 9th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804.2252621
DarleneDerricott@schev.edu

Washington

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Michael Ball
Associate Director for State Approving Agency & Degree Authorization
Student Achievement Council
PO Box 43430
Olympia, WA 98504-3430
360.753.7866
michaelb@wsac.wa.gov

West Virginia

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Mark Stotler
Director of Academic Programming
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Blvd. East, Suite 700
Charleston, WV 25301
304.558.0262
mark.stotler@wvhepc.edu

Wisconsin

State Portal Entity contact:
Dr. Morna Foy
President, Wisconsin Technical College System and Chair,
Wisconsin Distance Learning Authorization Board
4622 University Avenue - PO Box 7874
Madison, WI 53707-7874
608.267.9514
nancy.merrill@wtcsystem.edu

Wyoming

Authorized and a SARA State

Contact:
Larry Buchholtz
Fiscal Operations Team Manager
State of Wyoming
Wyoming Community College Commission
2300 Capitol Ave., 5th Floor, Suite B
Cheyenne, WY 82002
307.777.7068
larry.buchholtz@wyo.gov

Federal, state, and institutional policies may limit or prohibit Ohio University's authorization for delivery of online education to students in certain states/territories. Students must contact the Office of Instructional Innovation at 740.593.2558 to discuss any change in their state of residence prior to relocation. Please be advised that continued enrollment cannot be guaranteed.

State Authorization for Student Activities

In addition to regulations regarding distance education, Ohio University must maintain compliance within every state before any student activity can occur outside the state of Ohio. (The activities are defined as Field Experiences and will be referenced as such in all of the University’s communications.)

These activities include internships, clinical components, practicums, externships, and field trips. This is not a comprehensive list. If you are a program director planning a student experience outside of Ohio or you have students who already complete educational activities outside of Ohio, you must check to make sure you are in compliance before proceeding. Learn more about regulations regarding field experiences.

Accreditation

Ohio University is regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The Ohio Board of Regents has authorized the University to offer undergraduate- and graduate-level certificates, associate, baccalaureate, master’s, and doctorate degrees. Information on how to report a complaint to our accrediting association can be found on the HLC website.

Questions?

For more information about Ohio University’s compliance with state authorization, contact Kia Stone, the coordinator of compliance & quality assurance, at 740.593.2558 or stonek1@ohio.edu.


Back to OII Home