International Conference on Perpetual Pavement
October  30 -31, 2014 - Columbus, Ohio, USA


Wednesday, October 29, 2014

5:00-7:00 PM Registration and Reception


Thursday October 30, 2014

7:00-8:15 Registration/breakfast

8:15-9:00 Opening Session

·Dennis Irwin, Dean, Russ College of Engineering and Technology, Ohio University

·David Humphrey, Administrator, Office of Pavement Engineering, Ohio Department of Transportation

·Cliff Ursich, President and Executive Director, Flexible Pavements of Ohio

·Douglas Davis, P.E., P.S., Muskingum County Engineer and Vice President, County Engineers Association of Ohio

9:00-9:30 Keynote Speaker:Mike Acott (President, National Asphalt Pavement Association), "Perpetual Pavements: Meeting Customer Needs"

9:30-10:30 Keynote Speaker: M. W. Witczak (Arizona State University and University of Maryland), "Is It Time to Re-Define the Meaning of Perpetual Pavements?"

10:30-11:00 Break

11:00-11:30 Aric Morse (Ohio Department of Transportation), "Perpetual Pavements in Ohio"

11:30-12:00 David H. Timm (Auburn University) and Mary M. Robbins (National Center for Asphalt Technology), "Perpetual Pavement Research at the NCAT Test Track"

12:00-12:30 Wes Yang (New York State Department of Transportation) and Issam Khoury (Ohio University), "New York's Experience with Perpetual Pavement"

12:30-2:00 Lunch: APA Perpetual Pavement Awards

2:00-2:30Benjamin B. Jordan (Ohio University) and Shad M. Sargand (Ohio University), "Asphalt Perpetual Pavement Design: Utilizing Existing Pavement Systems in Ohio"

2:30-3:00Bevan Sullivan (Fulton Hogan), Ian Rickards (Australian Asphalt Pavement Association), Geoff Youdale (Australian Asphalt Pavement Association), and Dougall Broadfoot (Australian Asphalt Pavement Association), "Development of a Validated Design Procedure for Australian Long Life Pavements"

3:00-3:30 Mohab El-Hakim (Stantec Consulting Ltd.) and Susan Tighe (University of Waterloo), "Perpetual Pavements in Canada: Structural, Economic and Sustainability Assessment"

3:30-4:00 Break

4:00-4:30 Noé Hernández Fernández (SemGroup Corporation, Mexico), Victor M. Cincire Romero (SemGroup Corporation, Mexico), and Francisco D. Suarez Mendoza (SemGroup Corporation, Mexico), "Present and Future of Perpetual Pavements in Mexico"

4:30-5:00 Charles Wienrank (Illinois Department of Transportation), "Illinois DOT's Maximum Thickness HMA Design Procedure" 


Friday October 31, 2014

7:00-8:00 Registration/breakfast

8:00-8:30 Brian S. Driscoll, (Bramhall Engineering and Surveying Co., Inc.), "Cuyahoga County's Perpetual Pavement Project: 6 Years Later"

8:30-9:00 James A. Crovetti (Marquette University) and Nicholas J. Hornyak (Edgerton Contractors, Inc.), "The Marquette Interchange Perpetual HMA Pavement"

9:00-9:30 Jianfeng Qin (Ohio University) and Shad M. Sargand (Ohio University), "Analysis of Near Surface Strain Response of Perpetual Pavement"

9:30- 10:00 James Greene (Florida Department of Transportation), Bouzid Choubane (Florida Department of Transportation), Sanghyun Chun (University of Florida), and Sungho Kim (Florida Department of Transportation), "Unintended Consequences of a Stress Absorbing Membrane Interlayer on Long-Term Pavement Performance"

10:00-10:30 Break

10:30-11:00 Mena Souliman (University of Texas at Tyler) and Michael Mamlouk (Arizona State University), "Fatigue Endurance Limit and Designing Perpetual Asphalt Pavements"

11:00-11:30 Mary M. Robbins (National Center for Asphalt Technology), Nam Tran (National Center for Asphalt Technology), David H. Timm (Auburn University), and J. Richard Willis (National Center for Asphalt Technology), "Stochastic Framework for Using the Fatigue Ratio Concept in Perpetual Pavement Design"

11:30-12:00 Flávio R. G. Padula (CEFET-MG), Richard Willis (National Center for Asphalt Technology), and Adam Tailor (Auburn University), "Fatigue Performance 2009 NCAT Test Track Mixtures Using Simplified Visco-Elastic Continuum Damage Modeling"

12:00-1:00 Lunch

1:00-1:30 B. Shane Underwood (Arizona State University), Waleed A. Zeiada (Arizona State University), and Kamil E. Kaloush (Arizona State University), "Comparison of Hot Mix Asphalt Endurance Limit using NCHRP 9-44A Developed Methodology to Other Analytical Techniques"

1:30-2:00 R. Buzz Powell (National Center for Asphalt Technology), David Timm (Auburn University), J. Richard Willis (National Center for Asphalt Technology), Raj Dongré (Dongré Laboratory Services, Inc.), Robert Kluttz (Kraton Polymers U.S., LLC), "Performance and Rational Design of Thin, Highly Modified Structural Pavements"

2:00-2:30 Kamran Majidzadeh (Resource International, Inc.), Chhote Saraf (Resource International, Inc.), Julie Miller (Resource International, Inc.), Manouchehr Motamedi (Resource International, Inc.), and Dennis Albrecht (Ohio Turnpike Infrastructure Commission), "The Ohio Studies Reveal Significant Cost Saving Potentials in Pavement Thickness Design, Construction and Performance"

Ohio Research Institute for Transportation and the Environment
Stocker Center 146 - Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701
Tel: 740-593-2476

All Rights Reserved