Ohio University

Graduate College Named Fellowships - Recipients

2019-2020 Nominations are due on Friday, February 8, 2019 by 5 P.M.

Each year, Ohio University Graduate College funds five Named Fellowships.The fellowships are awarded through a competitive nomination basis. Each award provides a fellowship of $15,000, plus a full tuition scholarship for fall and spring semesters



Submit nominations for 2019-2020 by
emailing namedfellows@ohio.edu

For more information,
click here.

2018-19 Named Fellowship Recipients

Fellowship Image Recipient
The John Cady Graduate Fellowship:
2018-19 John Cady Graduate Fellowship Recipient

Alexander Lovelace
PhD, History
Project Title: Total Coverage: How Media Shaped Command Decisions during WWII

The Donald Clippinger Graduate Fellowship:
2018-19 Donald Clippinger Graduate Fellowship Recipient

Anthony Gilbert
PhD, Biological Sciences
Project Title: Evolutionary Responses to Global Climate Change in Desert Reptiles

The Claude Kantner Graduate Fellowship:
2018-19 Claude Kantner Graduate Fellowship Recipient

Nicole Hudak
PhD, Communication Studies
Project Title: Communicating a LGBTQ Friendly Healthcare Space

The Anthony Trisolini Graduate Fellowship:
2018-19 Anthony Trisolini Graduate Fellowship Recipient

Inna Tsyrlin
MFA, Playwriting
Project Title: Stitched with a Sickle and a Hammer

Graduate College Fellowship:
2018-19 Graduate College Fellowship Recipient

Xueying Ko
PhD, Chemical Engineering
Project Title: Molecular Simulations to Study Adsorption and Self-assembly of Corrosion Inhibitors on Metal-Water Interfaces

2017-18 Named Fellowship Recipients


  • The John Cady Graduate Fellowship: Michelle Pretotius - PhD, English
  • The Donald Clippinger Graduate Fellowship: Mary Gemmel - PhD, Biological Sciences
  • The Claude Kantner Graduate Fellowship: Katy A. Ross - PhD, Communication Studies
  • The Anthony Trisolini Graduate Fellowship: Brian MacNeel - MFA, Film
  • Graduate College Fellowship: Clarissa Bunch - MEd, Early Childhood Intervention Specialist

2016-17 Named Fellowship Recipients


  • The John Cady Graduate Fellowship: M. Renee Benham - Ph.D., English Victorian Literature
  • The Donald Clippinger Graduate Fellowship: Kiran Prasai - Ph.D., Physics and Astronomy
  • The Claude Kantner Graduate Fellowship: Mitchell D. Smith - Ph.D., History
  • The Anthony Trisolini Graduate Fellowship: Rachel Bykowski - M.F.A., Playwriting
  • Graduate College Fellowship: Nicholas Tomeo - Ph.D., Environmental and Plant Biology

2015-16 Named Fellowship Recipients


  • The John Cady Graduate Fellowship: Maggie Messitt - PhD, Creative Writing-Nonfiction
  • The Donald Clippinger Graduate Fellowship: Ashley Howell - PhD, Clinical Psychology
  • The Claude Kantner Graduate Fellowship: Justin Rudnick - PhD, Communication Studies
  • The Anthony Trisolini Graduate Fellowship: Tyler JC Whidden - MFA, Playwriting
  • Graduate College Fellowship: Melissa Riggs - MA, Photojournalism