Ohio University

skip to main content
Connect

Our Faculty

 

AnnCorrine Freter-Abrams
Sociology and Anthropology
freter@ohio.edu

 

Emilia Alonso Sameño
Department of Modern Languages 
Specialization: Speech perception and language understanding, first and second language acquisition, Spanish phonetics and phonology, language pedagogy, dialectology and sociolinguistics 
Office: Gordy Hall 247 
(740) 593-2826 
markse@ohio.edu

 

 

Catherine Axinn
Marketing
axinn@ohio.edu

 

 

Patrick Barr-Melej
Department of History 
Specialization: History of modern Latin America, 20 th -century Chile, political and cultural youth 
Office: Bentley Annex 435 
(740) 597-1851 
barr-mel@ohio.edu

 

Lucas Borges
School of Music
Specialization: Trombone, euphonium, tuba methods and materials, chamber music, brass
Office: Glidden Hall 363
(740) 593-4244
regoborg@ohio.edu

 

Mariana Dantas  
Department of History
Specialization: History of slavery in the Americas, history of the African Diaspora, Latin American and Brazilian history, race and gender in Latin American history
Office: Bentley Annex 457
(740) 593-4319 
dantas@ohio.edu

 

José Delgado-Costa  
Department of Modern Languages 
Specialization: Contemporary Spanish-American narrative and theater. 
Office: Gordy 251 
(740) 593-9171 
delgadoj@ohio.edu

 

Qian Du
English Language Improvement Program
duq@ohio.edu

 

Roberto Duncan  
Department of Economics 
Specialization: International finance, macroeconomics, applied econometrics, development economics 
Office: Bentley Annex 360 
(740) 593-2040 
duncanr1@ohio.edu

 

Sofia Fernandez
Linguistics
sf567315@ohio.edu

 

Melissa Figueroa
Department of Modern Languages
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office: Gordy Hall 275
figuerom@ohio.edu

 

 

Luke Fitzpatrick
Economics
fitzpatl@ohio.edu

 

Andrea Frohne
Interdisciplinary Arts
frohne@ohio.edu

 

Muriel Gallego
Department of Modern Languages
Specialization: Applied linguistics, theories of second language acquisition, foreign/second language pedagogy, critical pedagogy and sociolinguistics
Office: Gordy Hall 283
(740) 593-2761
gallego@ohio.edu

 

Meredith Gartin
Global Health
gartin@ohio.edu

 

Mike Geringer
Management Information Systems
geringer@ohio.edu

 

Mario Grijalva
Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine, Department of Biomedical Sciences 
Specialization: Tropical diseases, epidemiology, Immunoparasitology and international health 
Office: Irvine 333 
(740) 593-2192 
grijalva@ohio.edu

 

Arthur Hughes
Director
Office: Yamada 115
(740) 593-1835
Department of Modern Languages
Specialization: 20 th -century Spanish narrative, Spanish American civilization and culture
Office: Gordy Hall 327 
hughesa@ohio.edu

 

Brad Jokisch
Geography 
Specialization: Cultural and political ecology, migration, Andes, agriculture 
Office: Clippinger Hall 114
(740) 593-1143 
Jokisch@ohio.edu

 

Chulho Jung
Economics
jung@ohio.edu

 

Mary Jane Kelley
Modern Languages
kelley@ohio.edu  

 

Yeong-hyun Kim
Geography
kimy1@ohio.edu

 

Amado Lascar
Modern Languages 
Specialization: 19 th -century Latin American literature, nation building and identity 
Office: Gordy Hall 229 
(740)597-2724 
lascar@ohio.edu

 

Matthew Layton
Department of Political Sciences
Specialization: Comparative politics, Latin American politics, social assistance and Ddemocratic citizenship
Office: Bentley Annex 213
laytonm@ohio.edu

 

Sinae Lee
Linguistics
lees7@ohio.edu

 

 

 

Joanna Mitchell
Department of Modern Languages
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office: Gordy Hall
(740)593-2807
mitchej2@ohio.edu

 

Charlie Morgan
Sociology and Anthropology
morganc3@ohio.edu

 

Ghirmai Negash
English
negashg@ohio.edu

 

Betsy Partyka
Department of Modern Languages 
Specialization: 20 th -century Spanish-American literature, Ooral narrative & folklore 
Office: Gordy Hall 283C
(740) 593-2764 
partyka@ohio.edu

 

Thomas Peters
Journalism
peters@ohio.edu

 

Steve Scanlan
Sociology and Anthropolog
scanlans@ohio.edu

 

Tom Smucker
Geography
smucker@ohio.edu

 

Kirstine Taylor
Political Science
taylork@ohio.edu

 

Patricia Toledo Torres
Department of Economics 
Specialization: Development economics, microeconomics, applied econometrics, experimental methods, statistics 
Office: Bentley Annex 360
(740) 593-0145 
toledot@ohio.edu

 

Daniel Torres
Department of Modern Languages 
Specialization: Colonial and contemporary Latin American poetry 
Office: Gordy Hall 263 
(740) 593-2769 
torres@ohio.edu

 

Yong Wang
Marketing
wangy@ohio.edu

 

Edna Wangui
Geography
wangui@ohio.edu

 

Risa Whitson
Department of Geography and Women's Studies 
Specialization: Gender, informal sector economies, Argentina, qualitative analysis 
Office: Clippinger Labs 110 
(740) 593-1144 
whitson@ohio.edu

 


   

   
   

   
   

   
   

Section Menu