Ohio University

skip to main content
Connect

Our Faculty

 

 

Emilia Alonso Sameño
Department of Modern Languages 
Specialization: Speech perception and language understanding, first and second language acquisition, Spanish phonetics and phonology, language pedagogy, dialectology and sociolinguistics 
Office: Gordy Hall 247 
(740) 593-2826 
markse@ohio.edu

 

Felipe Alos-Vera
Industrial and Systems Engineering, Russ College of Engineering
Also serves as a faculty member with the Infectious and Tropical Disease Institute
aros@ohio.edu

 

Patrick Barr-Melej
Department of History 
Specialization: History of modern Latin America, 20 th -century Chile, political and cultural youth 
Office: Bentley Annex 435 
(740) 597-1851 
barr-mel@ohio.edu

 

Tania Basta
Department of Social and Public Health 
College of Health Sciences and Professions
740-593-4681
basta@ohio.edu


Fabian Benencia
Biomedical Engineering
Russ College of Engineering
740-597-2133
benencia@ohio.edu

 

Lucas Borges
School of Music
Specialization: Trombone, euphonium, tuba methods and materials, chamber music, brass
Office: Glidden Hall 363
(740) 593-4244
regoborg@ohio.edu

 

Mariana Dantas  
Department of History
Specialization: History of slavery in the Americas, history of the African Diaspora, Latin American and Brazilian history, race and gender in Latin American history
Office: Bentley Annex 457
(740) 593-4319 
dantas@ohio.edu

 

José Delgado-Costa  
Department of Modern Languages 
Specialization: Contemporary Spanish-American narrative and theater. 
Office: Gordy 251 
(740) 593-9171 
delgadoj@ohio.edu

 

Roberto Duncan  
Department of Economics 
Specialization: International finance, macroeconomics, applied econometrics, development economics 
Office: Bentley Annex 360 
(740) 593-2040 
duncanr1@ohio.edu

 

Jeffrey Ferrier
Center for International Collections
Alden Library
(740) 593-9957
ferrier@ohio.edu

 

Melissa Figueroa
Department of Modern Languages
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office: Gordy Hall 275
figuerom@ohio.edu

 

 

Muriel Gallego
Department of Modern Languages
Specialization: Applied linguistics, theories of second language acquisition, foreign/second language pedagogy, critical pedagogy and sociolinguistics
Office: Gordy Hall 283
(740) 593-2761
gallego@ohio.edu


Ashwini Ganeshan
Department of Modern Languages
College of Arts and Sciences
Specialization:   Lexical Semantics, Syntax, Semantics, Pragmatics, Spanish & General Linguistics.
ganeshan@ohio.edu


Claudia Gonzalez-Vallejo
Psychology Department
College of Arts and Sciences
gonzalez@ohio.edu

 

 

Mario Grijalva
Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine, Department of Biomedical Sciences 
Specialization: Tropical diseases, epidemiology, Immunoparasitology and international health 
Office: Irvine 333 
(740) 593-2192 
grijalva@ohio.edu

 

George Hartley
English Department
College of Arts and Sciences
Specialization in Contemporary Poetry, Critical Theory and Ethnic Literatures
740- 593-2838
hartleyg@ohio.edu

 

Arthur Hughes
Director
Office: Yamada 115
(740) 593-1835
Department of Modern Languages
Specialization: 20 th -century Spanish narrative, Spanish American civilization and culture
Office: Gordy Hall 327 
hughesa@ohio.edu

 

Emmanuel Jean-Francois
Educational Studies
The Gladys W. and David H. Patton College of Education
740-593-4731
jeanfran@ohio.edu

 

Brad Jokisch
Geography 
Specialization: Cultural and political ecology, migration, Andes, agriculture 
Office: Clippinger Hall 114
(740) 593-1143 
Jokisch@ohio.edu

 

 

Amado Lascar
Modern Languages 
Specialization: 19 th -century Latin American literature, nation building and identity 
Office: Gordy Hall 229 
(740)597-2724 
lascar@ohio.edu

 

Matthew Layton
Department of Political Sciences
Specialization: Comparative politics, Latin American politics, social assistance and Ddemocratic citizenship
Office: Bentley Annex 213
laytonm@ohio.edu

 

Edna Lima
English Language Improvement Program
College of Arts and Sciences
740-593-4538
lima@ohio.edu

 

Dina López
Geological Sciences
College of Arts and Sciences
740-593-9435
lopezd@ohio.edu

 

Joanna Mitchell
Department of Modern Languages
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office: Gordy Hall
(740)593-2807
mitchej2@ohio.edu

 

 

Betsy Partyka
Department of Modern Languages 
Specialization: 20 th -century Spanish-American literature, Ooral narrative & folklore 
Office: Gordy Hall 283C
(740) 593-2764 
partyka@ohio.edu

 

Julia Paxton Pagan
Department of Economics
College of Arts and Sciences
740-593-2042 
paxton@ohio.edu

 

Jesús Pagan
Engineering Technology and Management Department
Consortium for Energy, Economics and the Environment
Russ College of Engineering
paganj@ohio.edu


Nukhet Sandal
Political Science Department
College of Arts and Sciences
Director of Global Studies in the Center for International Studies
740-593-1834
sandal@ohio.edu

 

Patricia Toledo Torres
Department of Economics 
Specialization: Development economics, microeconomics, applied econometrics, experimental methods, statistics 
Office: Bentley Annex 360
(740) 593-0145 
toledot@ohio.edu

 

Daniel Torres
Department of Modern Languages 
Specialization: Colonial and contemporary Latin American poetry 
Office: Gordy Hall 263 
(740) 593-2769 
torres@ohio.edu

 

Risa Whitson
Department of Geography and Women's Studies 
Specialization: Gender, informal sector economies, Argentina, qualitative analysis 
Office: Clippinger Labs 110 
(740) 593-1144 
whitson@ohio.edu

 


   

   
   

   
   

   
   

Section Menu