Board of Trustees Chair and Vice Chair to attend October 14th Faculty Senate

Oct 8, 2013
The Chair of the Board of Trustees Sandra Anderson and Vice Chair David Brightbill will make their annual visit to Faculty Senate on October 14th, 7:10 p.m. in Walter Hall room 235. We are soliciting questions from all faculty to pose to the Chair and Vice Chair. Please send a brief email to with your question(s) by Thursday, October 10th. We may not be able to ask every question submitted, but will try to include as many as possible. There will also be time for questions and discussion with the Chair and Vice Chair from the floor of senate. All faculty are always welcome to attend and participate in discussion at Faculty Senate meetings.    
About the Chair and Vice Chair:
Chair Sandra Anderson is a 1973 graduate of Ohio University, and has a law degree from Northwestern University. She recently retired from her position as associate vice president and deputy general counsel for The Ohio State University Office of Legal Affairs. She continues to serve as an Adjunct Professor of Law at Ohio State. She counts numerous relatives as Ohio University graduates.
Vice Chair David Brightbill graduated from Ohio University in 1970 (and returned in 2010 to participate in commencement ceremonies with 125 other members of his class whose graduation had been cancelled after the shootings at Kent State). He has been an Executive Director of the Community Action Program Corporation of Washington-Morgan County since 1987, and is a past president of the Ohio Association of Community Action Agencies and the Corporation of Appalachian Ohio Development. The Vice Chair also has many relatives who are graduates of Ohio University, including his son. 

About the Board of Trustees: 
The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Ohio University, with strategic governance and accountability as its primary concerns. The Board's Statement of Expectations states that the Board "is responsible for ensuring that the university offers students an educational experience of the highest quality and produces research that provides economic and cultural benefits to the citizens of Ohio….The Board should recognize the important role that the principle of shared governance plays in institutions of higher education. It should seek input from faculty, staff and students and whenever possible incorporate their views into its decisions." The full Statement of Expectations is available at
The Board of Trustees includes nine voting trustees, appointed by the Governor to serve 9-year, staggered terms. These are volunteer positions. The Board also includes two non-voting student trustees, and two faculty representatives: Ben Stuart, who is chair of the Faculty Senate Finance and Facilities Committee, and David Thomas, who is Vice Chair of Faculty Senate and Chair of the University Curriculum Council. Information about all of the current members of the board—voting and non-voting—and the four board committees can be found at