High School StudentsTransfer StudentsInternational StudentsGraduate StudentsAbout Russ CollegeAdvisory BoardsAlumniCalendar of EventsCooperative EducationEmployersGiving to the Russ CollegeMinority ProgramsRobe Leadership InstituteThe Russ Prize
Academic ProgramsResearch Centers & InstitutesCurrent StudentsPeople

The Russ Prize

The National Academy of Engineering established the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize in 1999 through a multimillion-dollar endowment to Ohio University from the late Fritz Russ, BSEE '42, HON '75, and his wife, Dolores.

The Russ Prize recognizes a bioengineering achievement in widespread use that improves the human condition. This achievement should help the public better understand and appreciate the contributions of engineers to our health, well-being and quality of life. An auxiliary purpose of the Russ Prize is to encourage collaboration between the engineering and medical/biological disciplines and professions. Awarded biennially, the prize carries a cash award of $500,000.

  • 2011 winner: Leroy E. Hood
    - watch online

  • 2009 winner: Elmer Gaden, the "father of biochemical engineering"
    - download Quicktime movie

  • 2007 winner: Yuan-Cheng "Bert" Fung, the "father of biomechanics"
    - download Quicktime movie

  • 2005 winner: Leland C. Clark Jr., the "father of biosensors"
    – download Quicktime movie

  • 2003 winner: Willem J. Kolff, the "father of artificial organs"
    – download Quicktime movie

  • 2001 winners: Earl E. Bakken and Wilson Greatbatch, inventors of the heart pacemaker
    – download Quicktime movie


Ohio University
Athens, Ohio 45701
(740) 593-1000
All Rights Reserved