Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Russ College students honored for their academics, leadership at annual Tau Beta Pi awards

Bennett Leckrone | Apr 8, 2019
Tau Beta Pi Spring Awards

Russ College students honored for their academics, leadership at annual Tau Beta Pi awards

Bennett Leckrone | Apr 8, 2019

Russ College of Engineering and Technology students were honored for their academic excellence, leadership and achievements at the annual Tau Beta Pi Ohio Delta Chapter awards banquet held Sunday afternoon at Nelson Commons.

The banquet was longtime Russ College Dean Dennis Irwin’s last as dean. He welcomed students by looking back on the changes that have taken place during that time, such as the construction of the Academic & Research Center and construction of a new Baker University Center, and the lessons he has learned from students.

“You heard ‘Create for good,’” Irwin said. “And you did.”

Top honors went to graduating senior and Tau Beta Pi President Dylan Denner, who was named both Gerald Loehr Outstanding Senior Leader and Tau Beta Pi Outstanding Senior.

“It’s a great feeling, and it’s a great conclusion to my five years in the Russ College,” said Denner, a computer engineering major. “To be able to lead and work with these great students – it’s just an honor.”

Representing the Department of Engineering Technology and Management, the Myslenski Academic Excellence Award went to Brandon O. Mahr, the F. Theodore Paige Outstanding Graduating Senior Award went to Dillon W. Bossell, the Albert R. Squibb Service to the Department Award went to Cameron J. Womack, and the Outstanding Senior Leader Award went to Simeon M. Robe.

In aviation, the Outstanding Junior Award for was awarded to Ryan C. Wilson, and the Outstanding Senior Award was awarded to Holden Rawn.

In industrial and systems engineering, the Outstanding Junior Award went to Matthew Grebinoski, the Outstanding Senior Award went to Samantha Sanders, and the Dr. Helmut Zwahlen Award for Outstanding Student Achievement in Computer Simulation went to Azadeh Sadeghi.

Representing the Department of Civil Engineering, the Outstanding Senior and Senior Academic Achievement Award was given to Erin Milligan, and the Junior Academic Achievement Award was given to Justin Bradley.

The School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science recognized outstanding juniors and seniors in computer engineering, computer science and electrical engineering. Outstanding Junior in Electrical Engineering went to Alexis Lanier, Outstanding Junior in Computer Science went to Jordan M. Ball, and Outstanding Junior in Computer Engineering went to Aidan Crowl. Outstanding Senior in Electrical Engineering award went to Ryan McKnight, Outstanding Senior in Computer Science went to Kaylee Poole, and Outstanding Senior in Computer Engineering went to Alyssa Atkinson, and the G.E. Smith and G.V. Smith Memorial Award went to Yuanyan (Amy) Chen.

The Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering awarded Outstanding Chemical Engineering Sophomore to Ethan Harris and Annmarie Hoppel. The Keith M. Russ Award for Outstanding Chemical Engineering Junior was given to Lukas Johansson, Melissa Kuchta and Mahmoud Ramadan. Outstanding Chemical Engineering Senior awards went to Veronica Ammer and Ariel Lanier. The G.E. Smith & G.V. Smith Memorial Engineering Award for Chemical Engineering went to Fazlollah Madani Sani.

In mechanical engineering, the Mechanical Engineering Outstanding Senior award went to Tanner J. Wick, the Mechanical Engineering Outstanding Research award went to Quinn O. Mitchell, and the Exemplary Mechanical Engineering Student Award went to Joseph Carmichael. The Energy Engineering Professional Development Award went to Isaiah T. Yasko, and the Exemplary Energy Engineering Student Award went to Sarah L. Wetzel

The Outstanding Co-Op Awards, which honor students who excel in their co-ops and internships, were given to Jordan Beebe for work at Chemours, Gannon Godsey for work at Smead Manufacturing, Kurt Newsome for work at Toyota, and Mia Wilson for work at Harley Davidson. The Outstanding Employer Award went to Kalyn Garrison of Honda.

Engineering Mathematics Peer Leaders were also honored. Molly Swisher, a computer science major; Jacob Coleman, a chemical engineering major; Jenna Knisley, an industrial and systems engineering major; Joseph Nelson, a chemical engineering major; Erin Milligan, a civil engineering major; and Denner.

Denner said the wide range of awards demonstrates that Russ College students are willing to go out of their way to create for good.

“Most of the awards weren’t given out just based on GPA, but really what people are doing in the real world, and how they’re having an impact on the community,” Denner said.