Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Engineering seniors inducted into national professional engineering association

Marissa McDaid | May 7, 2019
Order of the Engineer

Engineering seniors inducted into national professional engineering association

Marissa McDaid | May 7, 2019

A group of 30 Russ College of Engineering and Technology seniors pledged to the Order of the Engineer on Thurs., April 2, in Stocker Center.

Meant to bridge the gap between training and professional experience, the Order of the Engineer invites individuals to recite the “Obligation of the Engineer” and receive a steel ring, worn on the little finger of the working hand as an identifying symbol.

This year’s ceremony was led by Russ College Dean Dennis Irwin; Chair of the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering Dale Masel; and Interim Vice President for Research and Creative Activity, and Dean of the Graduate College David Koonce, who is also an associate professor of industrial and systems engineering.

Koonce led students in reciting the oath, then Masel called each student to the front of the room to sign a certificate and receive their ring from Dean Irwin. Dean Irwin then left the students with some remarks from his final year as dean.

“This is the time to take risks,” Irwin noted, explaining that later in life, professionals may be tied down by other life obligations. He encouraged students to choose careers that were fulfilling: “Don’t get pinned down,” he said. “Do what’s important; do what’s right; and in the end, you won’t have to look back with regrets.”

The following students were inducted:

  • Erica Baird – Electrical Engineering
  • Brian Berthold – Mechanical Engineering
  • Jacob Border – Mechanical Engineering
  • Joseph Carmichael – Mechanical Engineering
  • Rachel Crum – Civil Engineering
  • Dylan Denner – Computer Engineering
  • Courtland Gibbs – Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Conner Hammonds – Mechanical Engineering
  • Illona Hartman – Civil Engineering
  • Sarah Isaac – Electrical Engineering
  • Nicholas Kiffmeyer – Mechanical Engineering
  • Charlie McKinney – Mechanical Engineering
  • Quinn Mitchell – Mechanical Engineering
  • Jelena Mrvos – Mechanical Engineering
  • Abdulmohsen Mugharbel – Mechanical Engineering
  • Quinten Orantek – Mechanical Engineering
  • Cale Polen – Mechanical Engineering
  • Jessica Robinson – Electrical Engineering
  • Sara Schulz – Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Alexis Simon – Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Kirby Jacob Sommer – Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • David Thompson – Electrical Engineering
  • Richard Jason Tipton – Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Randall Tucker- Mechanical Engineering
  • Theodore Tuttle – Mechanical Engineering
  • Nicholas Venturini – Mechanical Engineering
  • Joseph Wamsley – Electrical Engineering
  • Dayna White – Electrical Engineering