Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

New class of Engineering Ambassadors inducted

Marissa McDaid | Sep 9, 2019
2019 Amassador Pinning

New class of Engineering Ambassadors inducted

Marissa McDaid | Sep 9, 2019

The Russ College welcomed 12 new students into the Karol A. and Jo Ondick Engineering Ambassadors Program last week at a special pinning ceremony led by Dean Mei Wei. The newly pinned group joined eight returning Ambassadors.

Now in its 19th year, the Karol A. and Jo Ondick Engineering Ambassadors Program accepts a limited number of outstanding undergraduates from every academic department to serve as the face of the Russ College. Ambassadors lead prospective student tours, network with distinguished alumni, and promote the college within the community.

“Ambassadors are great representatives of the college and great students -- but also involved in an impressive amount of things,” said Dale Masel, who is the group’s adviser and also chair of the Industrial and Systems Engineering department. “Academics are a big part of being an engineer, but it’s not the only thing our students are doing. I think it’s great that the prospective students and alumni they interact with recognize that there’s that work-life balance here.”

In return for their stewardship for the college and Ohio University, Engineering Ambassadors receive a $1,000 stipend, thanks to alumnus Karol Ondick and his wife, Jo, who provided financial support to the program.

“I’m excited to be an Engineering Ambassador,” said Mechanical Engineering senior Brittany Hesson. “I enjoy sharing all the good things about the Russ College with prospective students because it has really been a second home.”

The 2019-2020 class of Russ College Engineering Ambassadors:

  • Maggie Allen – Mechanical Engineering*
  • Hope Bowden – Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Alvin Chaney – Industrial and Systems Engineering*
  • Kay Dunlevy – Mechanical Engineering
  • Allie Gabbard – Engineering Technology Management*
  • Brittany Hesson – Mechanical Engineering
  • Charlotte Kapral – Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Adam Kirby – Engineering Technology and Management
  • Melissa Kuchta – Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering *
  • Alexis Lanier – Electrical Engineering*
  • Dillon Mahr – Electrical Engineering
  • Tim Napoli – Aviation
  • Haley Nau – Civil Engineering*
  • Lydia Ramlo – Civil Engineering
  • Reagan Richardson – Energy Engineering
  • Arquimides Segarra-Ibanez – Aviation*
  • Lydia Seiter – Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering*
  • Lydia Shiffler – Computer Science
  • Logan Veley – Mechanical Engineering
  • Jason Wherry – Computer Science*

*Denotes returning Ambassador

You can keep up with our Engineering Ambassadors on their blog.