Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Engineering technology and management chair receives culminating Epsilon Pi Tau Award

Kaitor Kposowa | Apr 28, 2014

Engineering technology and management chair receives culminating Epsilon Pi Tau Award

Kaitor Kposowa | Apr 28, 2014

Engineering Technology and Management Chair and Professor Peter Klein has been awarded the Epsilon Pi Tau (EPT) Lambda Chapter Distinguished Service Membership Award.

The award is the highest recognition that active members of the technology professional organization may receive. Criteria call for professional performance sustained over a longer period of time and an active membership for at least five years prior to the nomination, and the award must be approved by the board of directors.

"It was quite an honor to receive this recognition from our honors society,” said Klein, who is retiring at the end of the academic year. “Being a professor at Ohio University has been the highlight of my career, and I will truly miss the camaraderie with faculty and staff.  Most of all, I will miss the interaction with students and seeing them transform from somewhat awkward freshmen to technical professionals ready to take on the challenges of today and tomorrow."

The EPT chair and executive director signed his award letter, which highlighted the reasons for his recognition.

“Dr. Klein has demonstrated excellence in teaching, scholarship, research and service to his profession, department, and university,” it began. “Dr. Klein is a leader dedicated to bringing out the best in his faculty and staff and is an excellent mentor to junior faculty.”

The letter then notes his heavy involvement in the Association of Technology, Management and Applied Engineering, having most recently served as President of the Manufacturing Division from 2009-2012. Klein gave more than 14 presentations over the last ten years at the annual conference in addition to being published in the conference proceedings.

Senior ETM student Jonathan Norris said he will most remember Klein for his determination to help students.

“Since I've known him he has been nothing but a kind and professional member of the ETM department,” he said. “He is very much devoted to the personal growth and professional development of ETM students, and that is shown through his commitment to our field of study. It has been an honor to learn from Dr. Klein, and I congratulate him on his award.”

In addition to being a long time member of EPT, Klein has shared his expertise through publications and presentations across the U.S. for organizations such as the Society of Plastics Engineers, American Society of Engineering Educators, Association of Rotational Molders and American Society for Quality.

He received the ATMAE Faculty Excellence Award in 2011, the Russ College’s Marvin E. and Ann D. White Award for Outstanding Teaching in ETM in 2008 and 2012, the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teachching in 1998 and in 2011, and the Marvin E. and Ann D. White Award for Outstanding Research in in ETM 2006 and 2010. He was also appointed Kraft Family Scholar.

Klein also authored a textbook, Fundamentals of Plastics Thermoforming (2009), which is well received and currently used in the plastics curriculum.