Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Russ College student services staffers honored for excellence

Anna Hartenbach | Jun 12, 2018

Russ College student services staffers honored for excellence

Anna Hartenbach | Jun 12, 2018

An Ohio University student organization recently recognized two Russ College of Engineering and Technology staff members for their dedication to student service excellence.

The National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) OHIO chapter presented its Excellence in Service to Students Award to Dean Pidcock, director of professional experiences, and Grace Sallar, BSCE ’12, MS ’14, assistant dean for student services, at the organization’s spring induction ceremony at Baker University Center. The NSLS is the nation’s largest leadership honor society, with more than 600 chapters and nearly 82,000 members nationwide.

The award is bestowed upon those who exemplify leadership by going above and beyond, said NSLS OHIO chapter president Elisabeth Wilds, a senior chemical engineering student.

“Grace and Dean were recognized as people who are genuinely and eagerly willing to help students excel in and out of the classroom,” Wilds said.

Sallar, who is also a civil engineering Ph.D. candidate and research assistant, joined student services in 2017. She provides academic support, financial aid counseling and general support to students.

“It was a humbling experience for me to receive the award. I come to work every day ready to help students in any way I can, and finding out that some students appreciate the work I do feels great,” Sallar said.

Pidcock, who has led the College’s Office of Professional Experiences since 2013, oversees the cooperative education and internship program, coordinates the college’s annual career fairs and teaches a career orientation course.

“I was honored to receive this award. The fact that it was awarded to me by students makes me feel like they appreciate all of the time and effort I put into helping them with their career development needs,” he said.

last year, Carol Hill, lecturer of Engineering and Technology Fundamentals, and Daniel Allwine, lecturer in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, received the Excellence in Service to Students Award and Allwine received the Excellence in Teaching Award, respectively.