High School StudentsTransfer StudentsInternational StudentsGraduate StudentsAbout Russ CollegeAdvisory BoardsAlumniCalendar of EventsCooperative EducationEmployersGiving to the Russ CollegeMinority ProgramsRobe Leadership InstituteThe Russ Prize
Academic ProgramsResearch Centers & InstitutesCurrent StudentsPeople

Russ College pays tribute to namesakes and honors faculty and staff

Athens, OH (May 16, 2008) – About 200 faculty, staff, alumni and friends of Ohio University’s Russ College of Engineering and Technology gathered Friday night to pay tribute to Fritz and Dolores Russ and to recognize faculty and staff.

Presidents emeritus Vernon Alden and Charles Ping joined President Roderick J. McDavis for the college’s annual awards celebration in Nelson Commons. The Russes, longtime friends and benefactors of the college, were honored with a tribute that included remarks from McDavis, Ping, Dean Dennis Irwin and deans emeritus Dick Robe and Dick Mayer. The program also featured a short film on the Russes, their lifetime achievements and their influence on engineering education at Ohio University and beyond.

Russ College faculty and staff were recognized for their outstanding teaching, research and performance in 2007-08.

The Russes established the Russ Awards, which carry a cash award of $1,500 and a personalized plaque, in 1981.

The Russ Outstanding Research Paper Award recognizes research and scholarship excellence across the college by faculty who published papers in refereed journals. The 2008 recipient was Professor of Electrical Engineering Janusz Starzyk.

Chosen by Russ College students, the Russ Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award recognizes outstanding teaching and advising across the college. The 2008 recipient was Professor of Mechanical Engineering Israel Urieli, who also won a departmental research award.

"No award can be more satisfying than being chosen by the students themselves,” Urieli said. “When I first started teaching thermodynamics, students would tell me with a yawn, ‘You must admit that this is rather a dry subject,’ and I have spent the past 18 years continually trying to show the exact opposite.”

The Marvin E. and Ann D. White Awards, which carry a cash award of $500 and a personalized plaque, were established by alumnus Marv White and his wife, Ann, in 1988.

The White Research Award recognizes continued and sustained achievements in research, scholarship and the creation of new knowledge in each department of the Russ College. Recipients for 2008 were Ron Faliszek, aviation; Darin Ridgway, chemical and biomolecular engineering; Eric Steinberg, civil engineering; Jundong Liu, electrical engineering and computer science; Dusan Sormaz, industrial and systems engineering; Pete Klein, industrial technology; and Urieli, mechanical engineering.

The White Teaching Award recognizes dedicated teaching and student advising in each department of the Russ College. Recipients for 2008 were Deak Arch, aviation; Gerardine Botte chemical and biomolecular engineering; Shad Sargand, civil engineering; Maarten Uijt de Haag, electrical engineering and computer science; Dale Masel, industrial and systems engineering; Timothy Sexton, industrial technology; and Robert L. Williams II, mechanical engineering.

The Russ College’s Outstanding Administrative, Technical and Classified Employee Awards, which carry a cash award of $750 and a personalized plaque, recognize employees for outstanding, results-based performance. Recipients for 2008 were Janelle Baney, department administrator, electrical engineering and computer science (administrative); Jim Caesar, lab coordinator, chemical and biomolecular engineering (technical); and Nicole Knapp, administrative coordinator, dean’s office (classified).

Educating well-rounded professionals with both technical and team-project skills, the Russ College offers undergraduate and graduate degrees across the traditional engineering spectrum and in technology disciplines such as aviation, computer science and industrial technology. World-class research in avionics engineering is an ongoing focus, and strategic research areas include bioengineering, energy and the environment, and smart civil infrastructure. Named for alumnus Fritz Russ and his wife Dolores, the college is home of the Russ Prize, one of the top three engineering prizes in the world. For more information, visit www.ohio.edu/engineering.


Contact: Colleen Carow, Russ College Director of External Relations, at (740) 593-1488 or girtonc@ohio.edu


Ohio University
Athens, Ohio 45701
(740) 593-1000
All Rights Reserved