Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Engineering student, alumnus win nationally competitive military awards

Anna Hartenbach | Jul 17, 2018
SAME award

Engineering student, alumnus win nationally competitive military awards

Anna Hartenbach | Jul 17, 2018

A Russ College mechanical engineering student and recent civil engineering graduate have earned recognition as Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) students for their commitment to academics and outstanding military training performance.

Rising mechanical engineering senior Cadet Hunter Nunnelley and alumnus 2nd Lt. Jacob Lambert, BSCE ’18, were two of 20 recipients from 145 units in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. Nunnelley won the junior and Lambert won the senior Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) ROTC Award of Merit, bestowed annually to ROTC junior and senior engineering students who are in the top 25 percent of their engineering and ROTC class. 

Lt. Col. Layla Sweet, commander of Air Force ROTC Detachment 650 and chair of aerospace studies at Ohio University, nominated both cadets for the award.

“OHIO is one of the smallest AFROTC detachments in the nation. For two of our cadets to be recognized out of 20 for the SAME Award is an impressive achievement, and it speaks volumes to the caliber of cadet engineering students in our program,” Sweet said.

Nunnelley, who will commission as a 2nd Lt. U.S. Air Force pilot following graduation in 2019, plans to pursue graduate studies throughout his career.

“Receiving this award furthers my confidence and desire to pursue the test pilot career field, which combines my pilot experience and engineering degree,” he said.

Lambert joined the 28th Civil Engineering Squadron at Ellsworth Air Force Base near Rapid City, South Dakota, as a 2nd Lieutenant after graduating from OHIO in May.

“The award means a lot to me in terms of achievement. It definitely helps acknowledge all of the hard work that I put in AFROTC, in civil engineering and on campus,” Lambert said.

Nunnelley will receive a bronze medal with a bronze key replica; and Lambert, who won the next-to-last award as a junior, will receive a bronze oak leaf cluster.

Colleen Carow contributed to this story.