Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

The Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize


Awarded biennially by the National Academy of Engineering and Ohio University, the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize recognizes a bioengineering achievement in widespread use that improves the human condition. This achievement should create for good at the highest level, helping the public better understand and appreciate the contributions of engineers to our health, well-being and quality of life. Established in 1999 by the visionary namesakes of the Russ College of Engineering Technology at Ohio University, the Russ Prize encourages collaboration between the engineering, medical and biological disciplines and professions.

Awarded every other year, the $500,000 prize is named after Ohio University alumnus Fritz Russ, B.S.E.E. ’42, HON. '75, an esteemed engineer and founder of Systems Research Laboratories, and his wife, Dolores. The Russes’ multimillion-dollar endowment to Ohio University funds the Russ Prize, honoring the couple’s dedication to education and the field of engineering. Recipients are selected by a committee comprised of NAE members and Ohio University officials.

Read about the 2015 Russ Prize recipients, Blake S. Wilson, Graeme M. Clark, Erwin Hochmair, Ingeborg J. Hochmair-Desoyer, and Michael M. Merzenich, who were recognized for engineering cochlear implants that enable the deaf to hear.