Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Department + Center Heads



Leadership, collaborative research and industry expertise are hallmarks of the Russ College experience. Meet the distinguished department chairs and research institute directors who bring the Russ College vision to life.

Dean's Office

Academic Units

  • Deb McAvoy, Interim Chair, Department of Aviation
  • Valerie Young, Chair, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Guy Riefler, Chair, Department of Civil Engineering
  • David Juedes, Chair, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Todd Myers, Chair, Department of Engineering Technology and Management
  • Robert Judd, Chair, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Greg Kremer, Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • David Bayless, Director, Robe Leadership Institute
  • Dale Masel, Advisor, Engineering Ambassadors

Research Units

  • Michael DiBenedetto, Director, Avionics Engineering Center
  • Frank Kraft, Director, Center for Advanced Materials Processing
  • Robert Judd, Director, Center for Advanced Software Systems Integration
  • Kevin Crist, Director, Center for Air Quality
  • Gerri Botte, Director, Center for Electrochemical Engineering Research
  • Lonnie Welch, Director, Center for Scientific Computing and Immersive Technology
  • Srdjan Nesic, Director, Institute for Corrosion and Multiphase Technology,
  • David Bayless, Director, Ohio Coal Research Center
  • Gayle F. Mitchell, Director, Ohio Research Institute for Transportation and the Environment (ORITE)