Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Counselor Education

The Counselor Education Program at Ohio University was established in 1948 by George E. Hill, a national leader in Counselor Education. The first Ph.D. degree from the program was granted in 1962. All degree programs in Counselor Education are accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Programs (CACREP), and the Council on Rehabilitation Education (CORE). All students must select a one of the following program specialization areas including clinical mental health counseling, clinical mental health/clinical rehabilitation counseling and school counseling.
CHE Cohort 2

The program has 6 full-time tenure-track faculty, 1 full-time lecturer, 3 part-time emeriti, as well as several part-time adjunct faculty who teach the CACREP-accredited curriculum. The instructor to student ratio is 10:1. 

The Department of Counseling and Higher Education has approximately 50 semesters of university assistantships for a total of $500,000 each year in student stipend and tuition support for conselor education and higher education students.  

The Ohio University Counselor Education program regularly collects, reviews, analyzes, and distributes an annual assessment report detailing performance-based assessments on student learning outcomes, exit survey results, and performance of graduates on licensure examinations. To see the 2015 - 2016 report, please click HERE.

Our graduates are employed throughout the country and abroad in a variety of positions devoted to service and leadership. There is a long history of outstanding professional accomplishments of both faculty and graduates that is promoted by the program’s emphasis on a holistic approach to the integration of counseling training with a high level of professional commitment and involvement.

Faculty, graduates, and students contribute to their own professional development and the growth of the profession by their leadership in professional positions in national and state professional counseling organizations. They practice counseling, conduct research, present at professional conferences, publish professional materials and continually strive to strengthen the profession.

Organizations in which the Counselor Education faculty, graduates, and students regularly participate include the American Counseling Association (ACA) and many of its divisions, such as: Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (ACES), American Rehabilitation Counseling Association (ARCA), American School Counselor Association (ASCA), American Mental Health Counselors Association (AMHCA), The International Association of Marriage and Family Counselors (IAMFC), Association for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Issues in Counseling (ALGBTIC), Association for Multicultural Counseling and development (AMCD), National Rehabilitation Association (NRA), Ohio Counseling Association (OCA), Ohio Rehabilitation Association (ORA), Ohio Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (OACES), Ohio Mental Health Counselors Association (OMHCA), and Ohio School Counselor Association (OSCA).

The George E. Hill Center for Counseling and Research was established to enhance professional development by program faculty. The Center provides opportunities for students and faculty to practice counseling skills, conduct research, and provide related services for the benefit of students, the community and the profession.

Chi Sigma Iota, the Counseling Academic and Professional Honor Society International (CSI) was first established at Ohio University in 1985 with Alpha Chapter. CSI is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS). Dr. Thomas J. Sweeney, Professor Emeritus, Counselor Education, Ohio University, and Executive Director Emeritus, Chi Sigma Iota, was the founding President of Chi Sigma Iota.



For more information, please contact:

Adrienne Erby, PhD, NCC
Counselor Education Program Coordinator
Lecturer and Interim Director of the George E. Hill Center
McCracken Hall 437A