Ohio University

Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration

Ohio University celebrates the life of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. throughout the month of January. The 2018 celebration carries the theme, "MLK50 Forward: Together We Win With Love For Humanity," and is coordinated by the University's MLK Jr. Celebration Planning Committee.

Mission

To honor the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., with an inclusive OHIO and Athens community tribute that highlights equality and social justice issues. We honor Dr. King for his work toward racial equality and justice for all people and for his dedication to nonviolence.

Schedule of Events

The 2017-18 Dr. Martin Luther King- Jr. -Celebration will officially begin on Saturday, January 13th.

Download the schedule (PDF)

2017-18 Dr. Martin Luther King- Jr. -Celebration Committee Members

Chair

  • Tyrone Carr

    Special Assistant to the Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion

    carrt@ohio.edu

Committee Members

  • Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity

  • Alicia Chavira Prado

    Special Assistant to the Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion

    chunnu@ohio.edu
  • Winsome Chunnu

    Strategic Director for Diversity and Inclusion and Multicultural Programs

    chunnu@ohio.edu
  • Theda Gibbs

    Assistant Professor, Teacher Education

    gibbst1@ohio.edu
  • Amanda Graham

    Executive Assistant, Diversity and Inclusion

    harrisob@ohio.edu
  • Barbara Harrison

    Assistant Director, Off Campus Living

    harrisob@ohio.edu
  • Bayyinah Jeffries

    Assistant Professor, African-American Studies

    jeffrieb@ohio.edu
  • Christopher Kennedy

    Digital Designer, University Communications and Marketing

    kennedyc@ohio.edu
  • Sarah Kinkel

    Assistant Professor, Contemporary History Institute

    kinkel@ohio.edu
  • George Mauzy

    Communications Specialist III, University Communications and Marketing

    mauzy@ohio.edu
  • Rev. Evan Young

    Campus Minister, United Campus Ministry

    evan@ucmathens.org

Sub-Committees

Athens County Annual School Supply Drive

  • Barbara Harrison
  • Theda Gibbs

Latino Movie Event & Panel Discussion

  • Alicia Chavira-Prado

Faith Acts Event

  • Evan Young

Teach In - Extending King's Vision to Action in the Age of 45

Multicultural Leadership Ambassadors Meet & Greet

  • Amanda Graham

You Said What? Responding Thoughtfully to Oppressive Comments and Attitudes

Creative Arts as Activism: Open Mic Night

  • George Mauzy

Day of Service

  • Barbara Harrison