Ohio University

skip to main content

Summer Institute for Diversity Education

Diversity Advisory Council


By design the Council is a representative, deliberative group that will meet to consider diversity matters at the Ohio University campus, regional campuses and the community. The goals of the committee shall include but are not limited to the following:

  • To assist the Vice Provost for Diversity & Inclusion in creating a campus climate the welcomes and respects diverse individuals
  • To work with and advise the Vice Provost for Diversity & Inclusion on issues and matters concerning the promotion and inclusion of diversity
  • To assist in identifying ways to educate the community on issues of diversity and inclusion
  • To provide guidance for dealing with sensitive diversity issues that may be of concern 
  • To positively promote programs, resources and services of the Office for Diversity & Inclusion

Advisory council meetings will be held once in the fall and once in the spring semesters. In the event of a sensitive issue or concern the Council will be convened for advice and counsel.


Diversity Advisory Council Members

Dr. Barbara Wharton
Associate Provost for Institutional Research and Effectiveness
Dr. Alicia Chavira Prado
Special Assistant to the Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion
Dr. Amy Chadwick
Associate Professor, School of Communication Studies
Dr. Charlene Smith
Community Member
Dr. Calvin James
Chair, Department of Biomedical Sciences and Associate Professor of Virology
Robert Pleasant
Coordinator of Student Success Center & College Credit Plus
Dr. Yegan Pillay
Associate Professor, Counseling and Higher Education 
Dr. JW Smith
Associate Professor, Communication and Disability; African American Rhetoric
Dr. Jenny Hall-Jones
Interim Vice President for Student Affairs
Krista McCallum Beatty
Director, International Student and Faculty Services
Tyrone Carr
Special Assistant to the Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion